1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting to Manual

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by zachballa_07, Dec 17, 2008.

  1. zachballa_07

    zachballa_07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    i have a Eg coupe that is currently a automatic i have been wanting to convert it for along time just never got along to it but i just picked up a b18 so i think its time... i was just wondering if anyone on here has done this yet and if they got any tips....if i use a cable tanny i dont have to run all the hoes and stuff for the clutch reserve do i?:confused:
     
  2. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
  3. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    well if you tranny is cable then no, no hoses because its not Hydrolic them can be a pain... Just make sure you get the proper mount set up for the EG :) Also I would recomend having the proper ECU and make sure it is compatiable with you car's dash such as the speed sensor, tacomitor, and any extra goodies ya have :D
     
  4. zachballa_07

    zachballa_07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    yea im getting the ecu and the mounts came with the motor witch came out off another eg coupe
     
  5. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    Sweet deal then, the mounts should work then so no worries along with the ECU :), the trans should be an easy as cake thing, just take your time oh and pictures are nice if you think of it, alot of people proably like that :)
     
  6. ntenc1

    ntenc1 New Member

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Make sure you bypass that clutch switch, or your ecu with think the car is in gear.
     
  7. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    lmao. I did that, and left my old auto cluster in the car was like im in park but im moving? rock on dude, lmao, I loved not having the switch in hehe!
     
  8. zachballa_07

    zachballa_07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    ill try and get pics i gotta find my cam lol..... and what do you mean by bypass the clutch switch ?:confused:
     
  9. zachballa_07

    zachballa_07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    ok i got a ? i went today to get a tranny and got it off way off and seen it was a doch d16a1 ??????????? i have never seen one before is this tranny the same as a b ser. :confused:
     
  10. drummingpariah

    drummingpariah Author of the Madness Man

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    D-series transmissions do not work on b-series motors. The d16a1 is a less-aggressive d16a6 (CRX/Civic Si) transmission. You should be looking in newer Integras with b-series motors.
     
  11. zachballa_07

    zachballa_07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    thats what i though i was jw i found one today though
     
  12. ntenc1

    ntenc1 New Member

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    The engage ignition switch that you find in manuals(pres clutch to start). If you have a auto now chances are you have the switch you just need to wire it to the ecu or your car will think it's in gear and will not start.
     
  13. Jared759

    Jared759 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    SC
    Honda-Tech
    Its an old thread but its pretty good. Tells all parts needed and everything.
     
  14. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    no specified thread.
    the link i posted tells parts and has step by step.
     
  15. zachballa_07

    zachballa_07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    are the clutchs and pressure plates the same between a hydro and cable tannys
     
  16. seaninnis

    seaninnis New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    I did the auto to manual swap with a hydro not a cable it was easy. eg's and ek's already have the firewall position set up for the hydro. I went to the junk yard and took the pedal, clutch master cylinder, reservoir, line and slave cylinder. direct bolt in into 97 ex. there was a rubber plug in the firewall that you pull out, plug in hydro done.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page