1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

coolent to intake manifold

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by highperboi, Aug 14, 2003.

  1. highperboi

    highperboi Senior Member

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, California
    the other day i read this post saying they were gonna unplug the coolent hose to the intake manifold so that the air wouldnt be heated before going into the engine. i am curious on how to do this and what is the down side?
     
  2. Slo86GT

    Slo86GT Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Memphis - Hellhole of the South
    www.hondata.com

    Look up their "intake manifold gasket" that prevents engine heat from heating up the intake manifold so much. It's there, it works.
     
  3. sablo16

    sablo16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    :beat: no tech posts in member's lounge

    :tisk:
     
  4. sablo16

    sablo16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    o well w/e its a legit question

    im just anal cuz its late at night and i was playing Gran Tursimo and got my 250hp vitz BEATEN by 5 OTHER MOTHERFUCKING 80hp stock vitzs ARG damn computer cheats I TELL YOU :wtf: ahhh now i feel cleansed

    neway *sigh* yeah ive heard of its and hondata is the place to go...im not sure itll work wonders but it has its advantages
     
  5. highperboi

    highperboi Senior Member

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, California
    well i wasnt talking about that thing. i ment um just like disconnecting the coolent hose and connecting it somewhere else so coolent doenst worm the intakemanifold up. is there anything bad about it?
     
  6. sablo16

    sablo16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    and what exactly would you be connecting the hose to?

    ive never heard of doing...i personally dont think its a bright idea

    :shrug:
     
  7. sabi670

    sabi670 Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    I think I know what youre talking about. another web site posted it as a tip for "free" horsepower.

    what you do is switch out the coolant lines to the throttle body so that no hot coolant circulates through it. if the coolant isnt flowing through, it doesnt heat up the throttle body, thus the air passing through the throttle body doesnt get heated up either. cooler air = denser air = more power. (Think of AEM's cold air intake).

    I dont know how much you can expect, but I dont think could be THAT much, else everybody would be doing it.

    Downside is that if you live in cold climates, it's said you could freeze your throttle plate shut. I don't really know how likely that is though.

    I live on a Pacific island where the weather never drops below 70, so I did it, and haven't noticed any ill effects. I like the idea of "free" horsepower, so Ill keep it like that. :roll: :roll:
     
  8. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    you only need to hook it back up if you live in cold climates during the winter.
     
  9. legutki

    legutki Senior Member

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    so you just disconnect them and plug it up or what
     
  10. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA

    no, just bypass it with 1 longer hose, instead of 2 short hoses (between the 2 hoses would be your TB)
     
  11. sabi670

    sabi670 Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    you could disconnect them and plug them up, or just reroute them. there are two hoses going to the throttle body from the engine that run the coolant to and from the block. what I did is I unplugged one hose (the shorter one) connected to the throttle body from its connection and plugged it into the connection for the other hose so that it forms a "U" in and out of the TB. Then I just connected a longer hose to the nipples from the engine.

    I think the nipple locations on the engine and TB will depend on what car you drive. The locations on my TB (y7) were right next to each other near the base of the TB.


    HEHEHEHE......... got away with saying "nipple" :D
     
  12. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    Go with waht b16 said, disconnect and then just replace with one long hose, it's easy, but your idle will be effected in the morning :)


    Milan
     
  13. highperboi

    highperboi Senior Member

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, California
    how will it run in the morning?? and what are actual gains?? any gains at all? would you see them on dyno?
     
  14. Loco Honkey

    Loco Honkey Banned

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003

    My thoughts exactly. And to add to it, does anyone know WHY coolant is run through the manifold? There is a reason, you know.
     
  15. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN

    care to enlighten us Loco?
    why does coolant run through the manifold?

    what if you routed lines from your A/C compressor to the intake manifold instead, that would be a real "cold air intake"
     
  16. Dman1100

    Dman1100 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines IA
    to keep the tb from freezing up in the winter. does this give any noticeable gain?
     
  17. Loco Honkey

    Loco Honkey Banned

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003

    Bingo, and no.

    As for running your AC to the intake... Why not just have the blower fan blowing air through the AC condenser and into the intake? I'll tell ya why- because you'd lose more power from turning the AC compressor than you'd make by lowering the intake charge. To date, the only way to get HP from nothing is with a turbo.
     
  18. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA

    here in cali we dont have to worry about that :D
     
  19. Loco Honkey

    Loco Honkey Banned

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Actually, it doesn't even have to be below freezing to ice up. Under the right humidity levels, you can experience icing on a summer day. When the air goes through a venturi (the throttle body at partial throttle), it speeds up. When it speeds up, the pressure drops, and when the pressure drops, the freezing point comes up. If there's enough humidity in the air, ice will form. That's why you *ALWAYS* pull carb heat in an aircraft at lower RPMs. Even on a 95° day, ice could form.
     
  20. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    cali dry as hell too
    :lol:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page