1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Correct ECU?

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by jowilson275, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    I have a 91 CRX Si with a JDM B16 and it has a pw0. Ive been told this is the wrong ecu. I know the fuel maps are wrong. Im burning rich as hell. Im assuming its obd0. what do i need to do to install the correct ecu? thanks
     
  2. Sofast

    Sofast Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Pm6
     
  3. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    would a pm6 just pnp? the bottom end is built
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
  5. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    now im getting mixed signals....
     
  6. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    the only shop that handles ecu tuning that is around me is like two hours away and they had told me they'd sell me a p28 and chip it. but then i'd have to buy the harness, ecu, dyno time, labor.... $600.00 later.. yeah right. so, eg6sir, would the pr3 just plug straight up? also, my timing is retarded, would a timing light determine how much it is retarded?
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    its obd0, so yes
     
  8. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    and it would just be stock base maps i presume. what is your opinion on these "performance" chips they have on ebay that shift rev limit and vtec engagement?
     
  9. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    cheapy ebay performance chips are garbage.

    curious though eg6sir why you're telling him to get a pr3. both the pr3 and pw0 run the b16 so why would a pr3 ecu change anything?
     
  10. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    my chipped pw0 has the wrong fuel maps. the ass end on my crx gets dirty quick
     
  11. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    every where i am searching online i am reading that pw0 and pr3 will run it. is the excessive shit im burning off more than just me running rich? could i be burning oil as well? if so, what could be the cause and what could i do to fix it? any help would be appreciated thanks
     
  12. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    I say its worth a shot waiting and bidding on the ECU eg6sir pasted for you.

    Or if your ecu/chip has a socket.......maybe you can just have someone dyno tune it

    From what I know....Burning black smoke...running rich means shit fuel/air ratio and gas mileage
     
  13. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    yeah i have an autometer wideband o2 and its telling me im burning rich. i guess ill just pick up the pr3 eg6sir found for me. its cheap. why the hell not, right? i just wont have the 4800 vtec and 9000 rev. the black smoke isnt bad till vtec. and the closest dyno to me is in kansas city and its like two hours away from me in manhattan, ks.
     
  14. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Well....get the ECU for now and make a trip later to throw the other ecu in with a tune
     
  15. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    you rev your b16 to 9k?

    /thread
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    only when im in a hurry. lol. she's never given me guff about it.
     
  17. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    yes, they both run a b16.. so i'm just giving him another option as far as ECUs go..
     
  18. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    did some research on these ebay chips. some of them reportedly shift fuel maps. starting to think thats what was done to mine. im gonna crack her open and find out.
     
  19. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    if ur ecu is dumping a bunch of fuel, most likely has an ebay chip
     
  20. jowilson275

    jowilson275 91' Si B16A

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    i've never pulled open an ecu. are the chips soldered in or do they just stick in with prongs?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page