1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

could someone help me

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by Sivarson, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. Sivarson

    Sivarson Sivarson

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    im trying to get my 91' civic with a d16 z6 to v tec and im kinda new to the whole motor thing so im trying to learn a little but i want to know if i can convert it to have vtec. also if someone could help me find the parts that would be awesome
     
  2. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Well the z6 IS a vtec engine, so all you need is the right ECU and the proper wiring to make it work.
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
  4. Sivarson

    Sivarson Sivarson

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    well id still need a vtec valve cover too wouldnt i. and the cam gears.
     
  5. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Uh, you need the whole engine. Or the head if you're keeping your original short block.
     
  6. Sivarson

    Sivarson Sivarson

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    actually i feel really stupid right now
    but i read the letters and numbers wrong
    its just a zc but its still the d16
     
  7. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Is it the SOHC ZC or the DOHC?

    DOHC cannot be made VTEC.
    SOHC can.
     
  8. Sivarson

    Sivarson Sivarson

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    ummm... i still dont really understand the vtec thing yet im used to american motors and my dad just knowing what we need lol how do i tell if its SOHC or DOHC
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  9. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    The valve cover is just a cover that goes over the top of the engine head. You need a lot more than just the valve cover to convert your motor to VTEC. You'll need an entire VTEC head, plus an ECU.
     
  10. Sivarson

    Sivarson Sivarson

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    well i got the ecu. but im confused as to what i need to get to get this vtec thing going
     
  11. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Seriously?

    Step 1.) Open your hood.

    Step 2.) Look at your engine.

    Step 3.) Answer this question:

    Does it look like this?

    [​IMG]

    Or does it look like this?

    [​IMG]

    The top one is a SOHC. The bottom one is a DOHC.

    Is that clear enough?

    :slap:

    I just told you the answer to your question in my previous post; to convert your car to VTEC, you need a complete VTEC head and an appropriate ECU!

    You seem to be confused on what a valve cover is. The valve cover is just a metal piece that covers the valve train, it doesn't include any of the internal engine parts.

    A motor has two halves. The block is the bottom half, it contains the pistons, rods, crank, etc. The head is the top half of the motor, it contains the valve train, cam shaft(s), etc. The head is where the intake and exhaust manifolds attach.

    In order to convert your non-VTEC motor to VTEC, you need the entire head from a VTEC motor, not just the engine valve cover.

    Please, go to Wikipedia or something and do some basic research on how an automobile engine works. If you were slightly more knowledgeable about typical engine layouts this would be a lot easier for you to understand...
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  12. Sivarson

    Sivarson Sivarson

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    ok well first of all i couldnt figure out what style motor i had because all it says is zc. nothing else. secondly i was confused about the hole head thing i didnt realize that vtec heads were different, i thought i could just get the cam shaft, gear and the ecu and call it good. thirdly i thought that the valve covers that say "vtec" on them were different somehow

    the first picture is the motor i have.

    and by the way im just learning this shit so give me a break man.
     
  13. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    ok.. another question.. you say the top pic is what you have.. are the spark plugs in the same spot or are they on the bottom side of the valve cover
     
  14. Sivarson

    Sivarson Sivarson

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    washington
  15. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yeah, all ZC motors, whether they're VTEC or not, single cam, dual cam, whatever, all they're gonna say is "ZC." So yeah, I guess it could be kind of confusing, but still, it's not that hard to tell the difference between a single cam and dual cam, obviously the valve cover is wider to account for the two camshafts in the DOHC motor pictured above.

    Nope, you need the whole head. VTEC is in the valve train. Just putting in cams from a VTEC motor won't do it.

    They are different...they say "VTEC" on them...

    My point was that the valve cover is just a cover that goes on top of the engine. It has nothing to do with the cams or the valve train or VTEC or any of the motor's internals besides simply covering them up.

    Sorry if it was too harsh, but you just seemed like you were totally lost and not understanding anything at all, so I just wanted to lay it out very simply.

    What you need to buy is a complete VTEC D-Series head, preferably with the intake and exhaust manifolds attached, plus the ECU for that motor. If you can afford it, I'd look into picking up an EX or Si transmission as well. The gear ratios will be narrower, which will help with acceleration and be better suited to the powerband of your motor once you get the VTEC head on there.

    Hope that helps...
     
  16. Sivarson

    Sivarson Sivarson

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    yeah basically i was lost. i read all this shit on wikipedia that just made me more confused. i couldnt really figure out what kind of engine i actually had because the engine only says zc because my old engine died so i had to go through all these papers to find the invoice. anyways i think its starting to go through my head now. i can get an ecu a friend of mine has one for vtec. and my civic is an ex model so that kinda helps.

    another thing, do you think ill have to find some special stuff to convert it since my car is automatic?
     
  17. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    If the ECU is from a manual transmission car that could be a problem. I know you can chip an automatic ECU for a manual transmission, so maybe you can do the reverse also. Otherwise, you'll probably need to find an automatic ECU or use a VTEC controller.

    Other than the ECU issues you won't need to touch the actual transmission itself.
     
  18. Sivarson

    Sivarson Sivarson

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    ok cool i figured id have to find a different ecu for an automatic. and wouldnt i need a vtec controller anyways?
     
  19. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    If you want to be able to set your own VTEC engagement point then yes, you will need a controller. It isn't necessary to do it that way though. All you need is an ECU that's appropriate to your setup, like an automatic Civic EX ecu for example.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page