1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cps code after swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by delsol_racer, Mar 3, 2007.

  1. delsol_racer

    delsol_racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    watsonville ca
    hey
    i have a 95 delsol and i got a 93 civic hb motor from a friend and i put the motor in with no prolbmes but now that the motor is in its putting out a whole lot of smoke from the muffler and its revving up and down and and when it hits 5000 rpms its like boggs out and wont go past it.
    i do have a check engine light on and its a cylinder pisotion sensor and i put a ohm meter on tha sensor and its reading fine,
    so i dont know what to do and i need my car so ne help will help
    and if its in tha wrong tread my bad point me to the rightone please


    Twitch
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    try unpluging it while the car is running and see if there is a diffrents, the code is there for a reason
     
  3. delsol_racer

    delsol_racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    watsonville ca
    unplug tha cps? cuz it has tha crank and top dead center sensor on tha same plug and they all came back with tha right amount of ohm's but ill tryit when i get a chance ne other advice say i do unplug it uthink it will be tha wires running to the ecu
    cuz it had the same code with tha last motor too but i changed everything i had a complete swap my friend put a turbo b18 into his hatch and sold me tha motor for 2 hundred dollers and i know it wasnt bad when he too it out cuz i drove tha hatch and now that its in my car its acting up
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    my bad i was thinking of the tps sensor, what code number is it having
     
  5. delsol_racer

    delsol_racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    watsonville ca
    when i check the light it blinks 9 times and in the book it says cps and i put an ohm meter on it and it says that its putting the right amount of ohms out so i dont know what else to do
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    thats a odd code not valid with TB injected hondas
     
  7. delsol_racer

    delsol_racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    watsonville ca
    then y do u think it would be throwing that card do u think maybe my ecu is bad?
     
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well it wouldnt hurt to try swaping it with a freinds just to see
     
  9. delsol_racer

    delsol_racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    watsonville ca
    yea wel ima take tha car to him and ask him what he thinks maybe i did something wrong but i dont think i did
    so yea im not sure if u have ne other ideas please feel free to share
     
  10. JDM_EK9R

    JDM_EK9R all motor

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    central, NJ
    what ecu are you using? make sure your not running an automatic ecu. ive seen that before.
     
  11. delsol_racer

    delsol_racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    watsonville ca
    no im using tha stock ecu for tha del sol i thinks my computer is bad im changing it soon u tink that would be tha prolbem
     
  12. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    The crank position sensor on obd1 cars is in the distributor. Your dizzy may have taken a dump.
     
  13. delsol_racer

    delsol_racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    watsonville ca
    no its tha cylinder position sensor and i know its in tha dizzy but heres tha thing.
    i put an ohm meter on it and its givving me 430 ohms and in tha book it should be putting out between 350-700 and another thing is that it happended in my stock motor and thats y i changed it. then i still have tha same prolbem but i aslo changed tha dizzy too so i cant see both of them being bad i was also told i was running tha wrong ecu so im hopping that it goes away with tha switch
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page