Crossmember help!!

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

redlinerz

I am putting a b16a into my crx and there isn't any clearence for the header.... should I just cut the crossmember to make it fit? Also is there any online how tos that can help me out? thanks

when i put the b16a in my hatch i cut the crossmember to fit, atleast on my hatch i only had to cut like a half inch

So I can just cut like half an inch and it should be fine? And what would happen if the crossmember should break one day that I am driving? And can I just bang it in with a sledge hammer instead of cutting it?

DON'T cut it. Beat the shinola out of it!

If you have the money, and upgraded crossmember is a very wise investment.

all i cut was the lip off the crossmember, i am a mechanic it is not gonna effect anything. that or get gsr headers i do believe they are alittle smaller

I just beat the shit out of it until the header fit. You only need to make a 4" wide, 1/2" deep dent and you'll have clearance.

what do you think of a place racing crossmember? is it worth it? and how do I order one since they dont got a website up.. someone had told me it was about $150.. thanks guys

Originally posted by redlinerz@Jul 16 2004, 04:53 PM
what do you think of a place racing crossmember? is it worth it? and how do I order one since they dont got a website up.. someone had told me it was about $150.. thanks guys

not worth it, if your gonna put out money for one get one that will help w/traction, like the jim fab or z10, but for 150, just smack that mutha