1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

crx si

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by bjoebright14, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. bjoebright14

    bjoebright14 New Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    hey guys i got a question i got a crx si and i just fixed the wireing harness finally and i was wondering if it should crank with all the plugs but only 3 wires? i know if it does it will miss im just looking to see if the motor is good
     
  2. ponykillerh22

    ponykillerh22 boostless and proud!

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    nj
    Yea it should crank.The only reason I know that is because I've heard of people doing compression tests while the car is running with 3 plugs in and 1 out, but I don't know how great that would be for it to run on just 3 cylinders, its ok if your just cranking it to see if your wirings good but idk know about running it on 3, but I doubt your running it with 3.
     
  3. bjoebright14

    bjoebright14 New Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    k thanks it has been sitting up you think it would crank on just three and do you know much about crx si cause i have another question
     
  4. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    how else would you do a compression test?
     
  5. bjoebright14

    bjoebright14 New Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    my crx would not turn ove so i ran another wire from the starter to the ignition and now it will turn over and not crank do you think its just the wire or the fuse box under ther driver side?
     
  6. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    if you think its the fuses, check the fuses.
     
  7. bjoebright14

    bjoebright14 New Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    well i think its the wire or where it goes in the fuse box it will turn over but not hit a lick and the only way i can get it to turn over is to hook a wire from starter to ingnition and i only have 3 plug wires at the moment
     
  8. ponykillerh22

    ponykillerh22 boostless and proud!

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    nj
    I had a crx but it had a b16 swap. Do you have the original engine in it or is it swapped? and mthafukngreen I meant a running compression test with 3 plugs in and running, I think its called a compression diagnostic test(I could be wrong). And it differs from a regular compression test by all the plugs are out and obviously the car is not running and your cranking it. I should have explained it more detailed.
     
  9. bjoebright14

    bjoebright14 New Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    i have the original motor i want to crank this motor so i know all the wiring is good before i do the swap what do you think?
     
  10. ponykillerh22

    ponykillerh22 boostless and proud!

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    nj
    I don't know much about sohc engine, but I'm sure its not tha different. Your best is if you already know the engine works and you just want to check your wiring, you should just invest in a multimeter and make sure all your wiring is gettin a current.
     
  11. bjoebright14

    bjoebright14 New Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    where can i find one at?
     
  12. ponykillerh22

    ponykillerh22 boostless and proud!

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    nj
    Idk were your located, but if you have a harbor frieght tools near you you can get one cheap. If not you can probably get one at any automotive store like autozone or advanced auto if you have any near you. If not you can go to harborfrieghttools.com and order one for like 10 bucks, I work at a harbor frieght in new jersey that's how I know.
     
  13. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    walmart, target, tool stores, car stores.. kmart, fred meyer. canadian tire.. whatever.
     
  14. bjoebright14

    bjoebright14 New Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page