1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

crx with b swap NO SPARK

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by russianswty, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. russianswty

    russianswty Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Okay so I've dropped a ls/vtec into a 89 crx Si using a obd1 setup. So I've got the
    obd0-1 ecu jumper, p28 ecu and all the sensors. Yes I'm using the stock harness
    with the addition of the extras that I need. And the motor is not firing up.
    So I've narrowed it down to one thing, no spark.

    I have gone through all my wiring to check it and it looks fine.
    The coil is receiving the 12+ volts
    The entire ignition system has been replaced with new stuff
    that includes the entire new distributor, cap, rotor, wires, plugs
    The battery has juice. The motor is cranking (not seized) so yes the rotor
    is turning.

    Ive even tried connecting back my pm6 Si ecu and still no spark. Whats could
    be my problem?
     
  2. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    so youve already looked at the plug wires to see? Have you checked you dizzy wires to see if the 2 white wires didnt get mixed up? what dizzy are you using? i had a similar problem and it turns out that you cant use a gsr dizzy on a b16 head.lol

    what are your codes?
     
  3. russianswty

    russianswty Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    hmmm

    No its not that,
    It's a p72 head. (gsr) and its the gsr distributor for it, but I had double checked on that
    white wires to be in the right area, I think i'll go flip them and see if I get anything. Thanks
     
  4. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    Funny, I have a gsr dizzy on my b16 head and it works just fine. . .
     
  5. russianswty

    russianswty Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    so i just switched them and no luck either. hmmm anybody else have any input?
     
  6. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    Do you have your ground straps hooked up?? 1 on tranny and one on valve cover/head??
    I had a crx that just died one day because the ground wire that was on the valve cover broke. It took me forever to figure it out, I put a new ground wire on and it fired right up.
     
  7. russianswty

    russianswty Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    ill try anything

    yeah i have all those grounds and the one that goes on the thermostat housing.
    But ill go try to add another one to another place on the valve cover see if that helps.
     
  8. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl

    mine had to be put 1.5 inches or so forward in order to stay on. I dont know what was up but It came off of a gsr motor. It didnt work. i put an ls dizzy and has worked ever since. it was definitly wierd:confused:
     
  9. russianswty

    russianswty Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    fixed it.

    actually turns out buying the jumper harness was a waist of money, I followed there instructions and happens that they screwed me up on one of the distributor wires. So I just checked the wiring did a continuity check and found the problem, just one wire in the wrong spot, and bam the beast(open headers) fired up


    thanks anyways
     
  10. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    they should have been all color matched except for the fat white wire. I think that one goes to the yellow with green line.


    either glad you got it running. I know how it feels:D
     
  11. russianswty

    russianswty Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    it works

    yeah, well it was kind of weird, it had those two wht wires, but it also had
    the yellow/w green wire, which I ended up hooking up. So one of the white
    wires isnt going to anything.
    Kind of weird. Hope it all works good, I've only fired it up, havn't had a chance
    to drive it yet. :(
     
  12. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl

    :huh: WTF? dude your telling us that you only have 1 white wire hooked up?? your supposed to hook up everything to its color. the fat wire goes to the yellow/grn. wire. I dont understand how the car is running at all. If it is you WILL throw a code. there should be ABSOLUTELY NO extra wires
     
  13. russianswty

    russianswty Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    oh well

    well I havnt really ran the car, just got it fired up, so when everything's back together I guess I'll find out then.
     
  14. Andrew

    Andrew Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    yeah bro, you've got to have that second one wired in.
     
  15. efnastytime

    efnastytime New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    nc
    try changing out ur main relay mine did that 2
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page