1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D Series Cam Question

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by RoughKnight, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    Prior to my local tuning session for N/A (cheap retune when I go FI), I was wondering if I would still be able to pass e-test if I got a cam in there? Something that can keep my vtec while giving me more midrange? I was searching the forums and since its a DD every thread said to look for a cam with more midrange, so I'm guessing thats the way to go. Any suggestions/ideas? I was thinking about the skunk2 stage2 cams, but I dunno if its too aggressive or not. Lemme know, thanks
     
  2. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    you should be ok..go with a zex cam..if your not looking for too aggressive go with the 59100 i believe...and for a little more get up go with the 59300..
     
  3. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    it wouldn't make a difference if it's a vtec cam or not would it because vtec is more then valves and not the cam right? I may be wrong but just curious
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    vtec is all cam. its a 3rd lobe on the cam shaft that is more aggressive.
     
  5. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    oh ok, because someone told me a while ago that it was all in the valves but I didn't know
     
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  7. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    you can not swap a vtec cam into a non vtec head..and you cant swap a nonvtec cam into a vtec head..also make sure you get the cam specific for your head casing..if you have a y8 get a y8 cam,if you have a z6 get a z6 cam..there is a slight differance i believe
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    cams are slightly different. you need to use the timing gear for the cam.

    z6 cam z6 timing gear and all is well. (you'll be half a tooth off with the y8 gear).
     
  9. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    While we're here, can I DIY(or myself) a cam install? Would I need to chip/tune? or could I still run my stock p28. It does run a tad rich due to my d15, and that zex looks alright. Any other cam suggestions? keep in mind next summer i'm going FI, and dont want to change cams twice.
     
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    its always good to tune after an internal upgrade. luckily you have a p28 which is very tuner friendly and you can usually get it chipped and quick tuned for 5-600 bucks (after that your costs go down because now your ecu is socketed and its easier to tune).
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    ^ +1 rep to you, you know what you're talking about.

    While the head is open, should I get valves/springs? I don't think iI'll need valves, but the springs maybe? Also, connecting rods? Are those easily available? Just a precaution because I think after the cam and turbo, i'll be pushing over 200hp and I know that the connecting rods are the first to go. Ideas?
     
  12. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    rods can be had for fairly cheap...with the 59300 cam its recommended to get springs and retainers..
    if your planning on going boost just do them while the head is apart..
     
  13. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    :withstupid:

    Anytime you upgrade cams its ALWAYS a good idea to get upgrading springs and retainers. some manufacturers wont guarantee their cams unless you do.
     
  14. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    Any good companies/products to look out for? Anything that would be helpful to my application?

    EDIT: So, another question, will ANY d-series valves, springs, and retainers work for the d15b? Or do I need specific measurements and all that jazz?
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  15. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    skunk2, crower, manley. There are plenty of others but those three jump into my mind immediately.
     
  16. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page