1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d15 piston rod broken

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by ellisd, Oct 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ellisd

    ellisd Ellis_d

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Location:
    lenoir NC
    look i'm sorry i'm new to the whole piston rod thing so bear with me
    i need to know know the quickest way to change a piston rod for little or no cost aside from the rod itself . i dont really wanna replace gaskets if i don't have to .
    i'm trying to save my self some money by fixing the rod instead of a new motor .
    i'm almost possitive my motor is still fixible because the block isn't damaged and neither is the top end so i'm gonna try to fix it . i don't have a torque wrench near by only socket wrenches so any help would be awesome thanks .

    there are ninjas everywere :ph34r: :ph34r: :wall: :ph34r: :ph34r: hide
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Go out through the bottom so you don't have to replace any gaskets... royal pain in the ass though.
     
  3. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    theres no way to get the rod/piston out through the bottom. the piston wont clear the mains
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    werd. tried and failed. i dont know if it works on b-series stuff, but on a d16y7 we couldnt do it.
     
  5. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    doesnt work on b series either
     
  6. totalautosports

    totalautosports New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Cheapest way unbolt the head with intake manifold bolted to the head. Exhaust factory gasket can be reused. Use a ball hone for cylinder with bad rod/piston new rings piston rod and bearings. check to see if cylinder walls are damaged and if valves were damaged.
     
  7. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Tried it, won't clear, you have to pull the head. And your going to have to get a torque wrench for this job.
     
  8. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Just remove EVERYTHING. It's more fun upside down. Much easier than replacing a few gaskets eh?

    :lmao:
     
  9. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    it still wont come out. the mains (which are molded to the block) are in the way. youd have to cut the mains out rendering your block useless
     
  10. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Just cut them off. You don't need them. You can always duct tape them back on.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page