1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D15b 18 MPG-- What could do this?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by puttockc, May 18, 2008.

  1. puttockc

    puttockc New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    *********EDIT**********************
    I have a Honda del sol with a d15b that got put in last November,
    I have been learning more and more about honda's ever since.

    My problem is I get 350 kilometers per tank even when I gently.
    this is killing me considering my last car was a Diesel Jetta.

    what could I do to improve the MPG(L/100km) of my car?

    Stats
    97 Del sol
    220,000 odometer
    D15b from japan
    supposedly 60,000 on it
    its the d15b with the vtec which only kicks in at 5600, not the 3 stage
    D16y8 Intake and throttle body on it
    just ask if there is any other info needed
    Thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2008
  2. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Well go more into detail, you should be getting way more than that, shit my truck probably gets better mpg then that.
     
  3. dacheat

    dacheat ..is grounded.

    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    strongbadia
    spark plugs and wires, air filter, fuel filter, clear exhaust line, right ecu?
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2008
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Do you have any check engine lights on? Was the motor given a tune-up before it was installed? Have you given it a tune-up recently?
     
  5. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    :huh: that is really shitty gas mileage for a Honda, I'm sure there are turbo B's pushing 300 hp that get better gas mileage than that.
     
  6. puttockc

    puttockc New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    it was

    it was tuned by a honda tech when put in I WAS TOLD
    no check engine light
    what sort of thing could kill economy like that?
    what sort of economy should I be getting?
    how many kilometers out of a tank?
     
  7. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    It should be getting at the very least 27-35 mpg. Unless of course you beat the shit out of it :dunno:
     
  8. 93civicracer

    93civicracer Oh, I do a little here and there.

    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    My first guess would be to check the ECU.

    Pull up the carpet on the passenger side all the way back, you'll see the ecu to the right on the floor.

    Undo the bolts so you can pull the ecu out, and look for the white sticker.

    The sticker should have digits in this arrangement: XXXX-XXX-XXXX or something similar to that. Make sure your ecu says p08 in the middle 3 so it should look like this XXXX-p08-XXXX.

    Or it could say p28 in the middle, in that case find out if it was really tuned.
     
  9. puttockc

    puttockc New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Ecu

    the ECU says P28 in the middle, what exactly does that mean?
    did the people who did the swap screw me?
     
  10. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    I think it means that whoever sold it to you didn't tune it right.
     
  11. puttockc

    puttockc New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    how would I achieve that? do i need special equipment? a chip? a computer? a cable? some software?
     
  12. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    It's not something that you can do yourself I believe...I'm not really sure what needs to be done, I'm not the most knowledgeable member here, but I can answer some simple questions.
     
  13. puttockc

    puttockc New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    oh I almost forgot
    it has the d16y8 intake and throttle body and all
    I think I really got screwed on this swap

    well thanks for answering my questions as much as you can
     
  14. 93civicracer

    93civicracer Oh, I do a little here and there.

    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    I swapped my old D15B7 for a D15B Vtec in my 93 Civic and I had to keep the old intake manifold and throttle body or one of them at least. But I also bought the JDM p08 ecu the original meant for that engine swap and it runs great not to mention gas mileage is AWESOME.

    You could run a stock p28 and you should be able to get a lot better results. Then you can get it chipped to run the p08 fuel maps.

    Or you could just get the ecu that was meant for that engine in the first place the p08.

    Whatever you do, make sure it's the ecu meant for your tranny also. So be sure to specify that you need it for either a manual transmission or an automatic transmission. That is if you DO need a new ecu anyway.
     
  15. dietirish

    dietirish New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    knoxville, TN
    holy crap i have a D16Y5 non-vtec i can beat the crap out of it and still get 29-30

    my best guess just take it to an auto shop and have to hook it up to thier computers they should be able to find something if your only hitting 18 that or someone is stealing your gas at night.
     
  16. dacheat

    dacheat ..is grounded.

    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    strongbadia
    :lmao: with the way the prices are.... :shrug:
     
  17. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    You need to take that thing somewhere that knows their way around imports and get the VTEC working on that. You'd get substantially better mileage than you already are on a Y5 with it's VTEC functioning correctly...
     
  18. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,271
    Likes Received:
    497
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    How do your sparkplugs look? Does the exhaust smell like benzin? How old are the sparkplugs and wires? How old in the air filter? If you look into the muffler with a flashlight, does it look like it's been coated with black paint? Check all of this and report back.

    Sounds to me like the tune. Well, actually it sound like you don't have a tune, heh. I was getting 22mpg before I tuned the engine. Now, I make 133WHP and I get over 30mpg, while driving like a jackass (100mph+ on the Autobahn).

    Open up the ECU, and see if there's a chip in the place where a chipped ECU's chip would go, you'll want to google this. If not, you need to tune it. Pronto.
     
  19. dietirish

    dietirish New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    knoxville, TN
    if I drive normal street speed i get about 38 avg, can i still get better? all hwy i can get the better side or 40-41 on avg.

    sorry to steal the tread..
     
  20. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Nope, that sounds about right actually. The HX (with it's VTEC working) usually gets around 37-38 city, and 43-44 highway. Are you sure the VTEC isn't hooked up? It sounds like it's working right to me...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page