1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d15b crx

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by markie, Aug 30, 2005.

  1. markie

    markie Senior Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    i just bought a crx hf with a d15b in it so the motor runs fine on the crx si ecu but my question is how do i wire up vtec? i would like to use a rpm switch but i dont even know how to or what to look for
     
  2. hybrid89

    hybrid89 thistownsucks...

    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    SoCal
    MSD makes a RPM activated switch and has all the instructions to wire it up, but I would suggest converting to OBD 1 and getting the P08 ECU instead. VTEC works off oil pressure. A RPM switch will not read that, so if for some reason you run low on oil or pressure, you have the chance of seizing your engine, where as, the ecu will not let you go into VTEC if it detects low oil/pressure.

    matt
     
  3. markie

    markie Senior Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    thanks matt.. also im pretty sure the motor has teh HF intake manifold on it what wall would i need to do to put a si manifold on it would all of the stuff boltoup or not
     
  4. markie

    markie Senior Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    thanks matt.. also im pretty sure the motor has teh HF intake manifold on it what wall would i need to do to put a si manifold on it would all of the stuff boltoup or not
     
  5. markie

    markie Senior Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    thanks matt.. also im pretty sure the motor has teh HF intake manifold on it what wall would i need to do to put a si manifold on it would all of the stuff boltoup or not
     
  6. hybrid89

    hybrid89 thistownsucks...

    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    SoCal
    If you want a great upgarde for the IM, go find a used Y8 (96-00) ex civic manifold and swap over the sensors and use that. Its the type r manifold of the d series. the only sensor that might not work is the IACV on the back, due to the casting differences, but shouldn't be hard to find. also a bseries throttle body to boot, like a LS or GSR!
     
  7. hybrid89

    hybrid89 thistownsucks...

    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    SoCal
    BTW- if you go this route, make sure it is from a 5 speed and not an auto!
     
  8. markie

    markie Senior Member

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    i think i over revved the car and did some damage cuz it over heats at high rpms now and it feels like it doesnt make as much power and i have to basically floor it to keep it from stumbling at low rpms HELPPPPPPPPPP
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page