1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d15b sohc vtec into 1993 eg dx

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by GTA_G20, Jun 14, 2004.

  1. GTA_G20

    GTA_G20 Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    What exactly do I need in order for this swap to take place. I bought this civic for $300 because two cylinders are low on compression. I can grab the engine for $350 not looking to make it go super fast. Just wondering what are the bare necessities to get this engine in the car and driving.

    My engine importer also tried to get me into a ZC which is also OBDI. What do you recommend the ZC is $450. Oh yea these prices are canadian too :D .
     
  2. HondaMoCo

    HondaMoCo Senior Member

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    lancaster/palmdale So Cal
    just go with the d15b sohc vtec, you dont need anything if you just want it to run, just bolt it in and start it up using all your old parts, if you want to run vtec and have a more power, get an si/ex tranny and a p28 ecu and wire up vtec.
     
  3. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    The easier swap will be the OBD1 DOHC ZC. You won't even have to wire up VTEC, and can use your stock ECU.
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    :thumbsup: On top of being able to use almost everything that you might wind up needing from your D series.
     
  5. GTA_G20

    GTA_G20 Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004

    Thanks so much guys,

    So I wont be able to use parts from my d series engine? I called the engine importer today and he said that in order for the d15b vtec again and he said I need a distirbutor and ecu in order for vtec to operate. Am I not able to use the distributor sitting on the d15 non vtec in the car already?

    I appreciate your quick responses.
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    The vtec and non vtec distributors are a little different, and the D15B, if it's the one with 3 stage vtec, needs it's ECU to operate correctly.
     
  7. GTA_G20

    GTA_G20 Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    so if I wanted to, I could use the dx distributor and ecu to make the car run. In the meantime I could also wire up the vtec so when I found me an ecu I could plug it in and be on my way?
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Different meaning they bolt on a little different. I haven't swapped every part, but the guy who put my VX motor into a CX couldn't use the CX distributor on it because it was different.
     
  9. GTA_G20

    GTA_G20 Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    gotcha, thanx alot for the info.
     
  10. 92hatchR

    92hatchR Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Galesburg, Illinois
    Hi, My name is Dave. I have a 92 cx with a d15b8. I just bought a JDM D15 Vtec. I was wondering how your swap is going. And if it is possible to get your ecu flashed from a Honda dealer instead of buying a ECU.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page