1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D15B vtec swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Kracer427, Mar 5, 2004.

  1. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    just finished swaping the D15B VTEC engine into my 92 CX hatch, checked and double checked that every thing was connected, but it doesn't even rotate :angry: ! The battery seems fine (Volt gauge reads 12v), the starter is connected up, but when i try to turn it over all i get is a loud CLICK, like what a dead battery would do when you try to start it. What's going on here? :hmm:
     
  2. slick*vic*

    slick*vic* Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    your starter took a shit..............time for a new one
     
  3. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    i've bought a brand new one for the swap....and checked the fuses... <_<
     
  4. slick*vic*

    slick*vic* Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    try turning the crank manually.......make sure the motor isnt locked.
     
  5. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    transmission ground wire :doh: I'm in VTEC bliss now and it's never felt so good. Thanks for your help :)
     
  6. driverunknown

    driverunknown Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Awesome!!! Glad to hear you got it worked out.
     
  7. commador

    commador Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    nice. How do you like that engine? I am getting one soon and I would like to know about it. Does it pull hard?
     
  8. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    engine pulls very hard, for an SOHC, and unlike the non-vtec D15B's the power curve just keeps going with VTEC there. I highly recommend this swap, it was actually pretty easy to do (with a few minor headaches), and you get to retain alot of your old stuff. The money you save on axles and engine mounts easily goes to more parts. The best part is your only 30 hp stock from a B16 and it weighs 75lbs less. I'm hoping to make up that 30hp loss soon enough and start chaos around town and the track :ph34r:
     
  9. vtecsir1

    vtecsir1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    sweet, where did you get your motor?
     
  10. illicon2003

    illicon2003 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Engine grounding wires.........happened to me for a while because I lost the ground bolt nut...
     
  11. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    i found the engine on eBay, i could refer you to this guy though, he supplies engines on the side and is a really cool, honest guy. He doesnt do pick up though, cuz most people get to his place and see the valve cover has a chip in it and say they don't want it anymore. Makes sense if you were selling it too, costs money to advertise. PM me for more. They usually go between $380 and 500. You gotta pick up an EX tranny though, otherwise it'll be useless to use with the stock tranny.
     
  12. SnailTrail

    SnailTrail Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Trailor Park Pimpin'

    :spin: i did same swap but i used a DX tranny. Wanted to keep low freeway rpm's in 5th is why. To increase my acceleration all i did was lighten the stock flyweel 3lbs & add a 6puck cermic clutch B) . Now im Ballin On A Budget :mullet:

    This puppy like a fat kid loves cake!
     
  13. SnailTrail

    SnailTrail Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Trailor Park Pimpin'
    quick question. I used a new Timing belt from NAPA :huh: for a 1.5l VX . if you changed your belt...how did you set the timing for it? I think i messed up the timing so mine is in a shop :roll: they are telling me i have wrong belt. i think this is a load of crap. they also said the vtec motor didnt go into civics untill 93 ... WRONG. i might have to take it back and fix the timing myself cuz of these jackasses. HELP on timing! line up the horizontal marks on the camshaft? i know how to do the lower part . :worthy:
     
  14. Jim Truett

    Jim Truett Senior Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003

    With #1 at TDC and the "UP" stamp on the cam gear in the up position, align the two lines on the cam gear with the valve cover gasket sealing surface on the head.
     
  15. HondaMoCo

    HondaMoCo Senior Member

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    lancaster/palmdale So Cal
    the line on the back of the timing belt cover has two arrows, one says "p28" thats for the 1.6 liter, since the d15b is a 1.5 liter you have to line it up with the other arrows that say either "po8" or "po5".
     
  16. Jim Truett

    Jim Truett Senior Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003

    Yeah, you're right. It's been a while since I worked on mine. The marks that I have circled are the ones you need to align to.

    [​IMG]
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page