d15b w/stage 3 vtec swap into 98 EK dx coupe

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Lil los

Hi every1...Im new to honda swaps. I bought a D15b obd2 vtec engine with a auto ECU. Im not planning on changing my tranny cause the car is my wife's. Im just wondering what do i need to do to make the vtec work and is there any modifications i have to make when swapping out my old d16y7 to my new d15b??? Plz help me out..thx

45 views and no 1 can help me out..........Ive bin doin all the research i can for this but i will still like some info from ppl who've done these swapa b4...Comon ppl plz help me out!!!

Never done this swap, but Motor bolts right in, I'm sure that you alrady know that.

You should only have to run wires for the VTEC and VTEC oil press, to make sure VTEC will works. Is the ECU a JDM or USDM?

As far as the rest of the wiring I dont know, you should really model you harness after an automatic EX civic (D16Y8). when i comes to 02 sesnsor

Last edited:
thank you sir...yea ive bin told the engine will bolt right up and the ECU i have is a jdm one i believe..I bought the motor and auto ECU from jdm engine depot. They told me everythn should go into place except they didnt tell me i needed a engine harness for the vtec to work..the one thats on the motor has bin cut..ppl bin telln me i needed a 96-98 ex harness and others said the harness for the d16z6 would also work great...I got and research alot of good info but i would like more opinions from others who helpd or did these swaps....I sure appresiate ur info Domi31 thx man il take it into consideration!!