1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D15b

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by chadcharb, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. chadcharb

    chadcharb Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    maple valley, Wa
    i have a d15b with no v-tech. i am curious of what the stock hp numbers are and if its worth spending any money on, just bolt on shit or anything at all for that matter.
     
  2. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
    They have 91 hp(hehe) and you can make a bit more power by intake, headers, ect. If you want you can put the si motor (d16) in and it would be really easy to do. Brad and I did it in about 3-4 hours. Then you could do I/H/E.
     
  3. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
    the si has 108hp
     
  4. chadcharb

    chadcharb Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    maple valley, Wa
    so is it worth doing i/h/e? its a new motor
     
  5. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
    umm well if you want to have fun do ihe. and or if you want to have fun and smoke 5.0L stangs go with si motor. lol
     
  6. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
    brads first car was a auto dx ( your motor) and it had an intake and no muff and it kicked some mazda mx3 or something ass.
     
  7. chadcharb

    chadcharb Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    maple valley, Wa
    so if i wanted to swap to the d16 would i have to do any ecu shit? is that motor vtech? i just put that motor in my car this weekend and it was my first one
     
  8. disableddan

    disableddan Crazy Insane

    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada, Eh?
    The D16 is very similar to the D15- different head and crankshaft and multi port fuel injection (MPFI) if I have my stuff right. NON Vtec. You need a PM6(?) ecu (not sure if there are any others that will work) and either a complete MPFI harness to swap or you need to do the MPFI wiring conversion. DX,STD (DPFI) -> Si,HX (MPFI) wiring
    If you have a brand new D15B2 I would recommend getting a header and exhaust system, and upgrading to MPFI. This way you can swap in an engine much easier when the time comes because your wiring will be "up to date" in a way. But I beat the living hell out of my D15 for 3 years and loved every minute of it.
     
  9. chadcharb

    chadcharb Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    maple valley, Wa
    does switchin to mpfi help me with hp or just make thing simpler down the road?
     
  10. HATCHET_HONDA

    HATCHET_HONDA scottie fizzle

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    hobart, indiana

    VTECH? uggghhh...:huh:
     
  11. efalex

    efalex New Member

    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Danville NH
    vtech is a phone.. looks like this [​IMG]



    vtec :)
    [​IMG]
     
  12. eg'sforlife

    eg'sforlife New Member

    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    29 stumps, CA
    smoke 5.0L stangs go with si motor........nobodys going to take this one
     
  13. chadcharb

    chadcharb Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    maple valley, Wa
    nobodys going to take this one?
     
  14. disableddan

    disableddan Crazy Insane

    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada, Eh?
    I only had my mpfi swapped d15 running for about 3 days, but it definitely seemed to have more go. And as far as I know it helps to have the swap done if you want to do a full engine swap later on.
     
  15. sevenhillsbilly

    sevenhillsbilly New Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    the mpfi is better because of the injectors you can always upgrade them and its just less hassle than having a carb. and go with the si swap its worth it and i mite have the pm6 ecu layin around ill look and those motors are easy to come by.
     
  16. 91civisedaner

    91civisedaner Senior Citizen

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Location:
    oregon city or
    you forgot to ask if it's a D15b2,D15B1,or D15B6........B1 has 62hp...B6 has 70hp....B2 has 92hp....b1 was in 88-91 crx and HF b6 was in DX civic and crx [non si] B2 was in civic LX
     
  17. kdizzyvtec

    kdizzyvtec New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    sorry to break in here i dont know how to post. but i got a 94 civic ex but with a d15b7 and i was driving and it just turned off everything died out of nowher nothing worked but the hazards and brake light??? its auto and when i turned the key like all the way i still could not get it out of park plz help????
     
  18. sevenhillsbilly

    sevenhillsbilly New Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    start a new post dude. there will be a create new post button when you click on car model just look and figure it out .
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page