D15b2 Rebuild

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

DnB_Hippie

Hi guys. I'm not at all new to the forum but this is my first post. My experience lacks with a wrench, but I have been working on my 89 civic dx for just over the 3 years I've had it fixing random crap that goes out like alternator, brakes, suspension, ect.

About a 2 and a half years ago I had a shop do a motor swap because I blew my head gasket and didn't know enough or had the tools to replace it myself. That shop ripped me off and gave me a bad motor which is already smoking.

In my studies with my own motor, and these forums, I have learned a lot, and I now have the help of somebody with more experience than I do with the actual internals of this motor as he dug around in his a little before he sold it.

Now, that said, our cumulative experience is still very little compared to some of you. This is why I have come to your for suggestions on what to do with my smoking D15b2.

My immediate inspiration was to sell this old thing while it still runs, and get a 5th gen civic since that's the shell I really like in the first place. This would require a loan to get what I want and I'm trying to avoid that. My next idea was to rebuild this motor since I already have the intake, exhaust, suspension, ect on this car and I don't want to have to start over, hence needing a loan to get the next gen model.

I would opt for a bigger motor, but I'm looking at 2k total in parts to rebuild this motor with hopefully better internals, maybe a better head, and an mpfi conversion. What I have now is 2 D15b2 motors, both aged, one for sure on its last leg, so at least I have a practice motor just to make sure we can tear it down and build it back up once or twice before we tackle the real deal.