D15B7 / D16Y8 swap problems

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

wizzkidd7188

I just completed a swap on my 94 civic dx, in which I replaced the D15b7 with a D16Y8. It was a total swap; I converted over to OBD1, (dizzy, injectors, alt) and the engine harness from the D15. It starts and runs but I have a few problems.
1) It runs hot (new thermostat). Checked the fuses and such but have yet to see the fans kick in.
2) I am still running the P06 ECU (is this the problem) I know I have to get a P28 to be able to operate the Vtec but I have yet to come across one (that works). Everything I find is for automatics.
3) Which throttle cable holder do I need to use, I am using the old D15 but causes my car to idle to high and I have to pull the pedal up with my foot?

Ok as you can tell I am new to this so I hope I posted this correctly and in the right place, most of all I hope someone can help me. :confused:

alright i'm kinda in the same boat as you are. i recently finished a B16A swap into my 93 dx so let's see if anything i tell you can help.
1. as for it running hot, it may just be the new thermostat. as long as the needle stays in the same area when you are driving, then it's probably ok. however, if it starts moving around and getting hotter, then yeah that might be a little bit of a problem. its kinda the same for me just only when i really step on the accelerator when i'm in 1st gear.
2. i would really recommend getting a P28 ecu. the mappings for certain things are a little bit off so that might cause a little bit of difference, not to mention you want the P28 for VTEC or there's no point in even really doing the swap. and have you checked ebay? there's guarenteed to be stuff on there or even check the marketplace here at hondaswap.