d15b8 question

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

rogue420

i'm new to hondas so bear with me. i just bought a 95 cx. what's the differance between the dx and cx motor? why does the dx motor have 30 more horse? is this an ecu issue? if so, can i just swap out the ECUs. i just bought a cold air intake and cat-back and am looking for a cheap upgrade until i can do swap of some kind. please advise.

The Cx was designed to be economical not a sports car, the dx was the base model and again not a sports car. No matter what other engine you put in there you will feel the difference

IMO cold air intakes are a waste of money unless you like paying $150 for a growling noise. A cat back is good but not in your situation. The best thing you can do is swap in any of the DOHC motors, b16, b18b1, b18c1. I say save your money until you have enough for a swap then think of increasing hp. BTW the only ugrades for a cx is a motor swap.

i understand that the swap to any other motor would be alot better but i'm a collage student and dont get my next loan dispursement until january. i figure the intake and exhaust are gimmies on any engine so i bought those first to get it out of the way. i was just wondering if the 30hp difference between the dx and cx were different ECUs and if so i could pick one up from a junk yard or off of ebay or something for pretty cheap, like 50 bucks or so. and if thats the only difference then 50 bucks for 30hp at the crank is worth it is'nt it?
get back
lol

30hp difference?

I am currently working on my d15b engine so I may be able to help you on this one.

I suspect your engine head has only 8 valves as opposed to 16 valves. ECU change will not probably work. I would also think that it is running on the more efficient multi-point fuel injection with four injectors right?