1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D15B8 swap to D16Z6. Need info

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by twinturbo, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. twinturbo

    twinturbo New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    I`m new here and would really appreciate your help.

    I have 1994 civic cx (5 speed) with d15b8 engine and getting damaged 1995 civic ex (auto) with d16z6 in it.
    My question: if i swap d16z6 into my hatch, can i use my 5 speed transmission from cx?
    What parts other than engine, ECU and v-tec wiring would i need?
    What motor mounts would fit?

    Thanks
     
  2. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    im pretty sure your tranny will work but imo the cx tranys suck. id get an ex/si trany. thats all you should need and i think you can use your mounts
     
  3. twinturbo

    twinturbo New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    thanks for a quick answer.
    What is wrong with cx tranny? Gearing? Reliability?How is it different from ex?
     
  4. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    the cx and dx trany have long gears where the ex/si trany have shorter gears and is good for acceleration
     
  5. twinturbo

    twinturbo New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    What motor mounts will i need?
     
  6. daveholiday

    daveholiday Do work

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    47
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    As far as I know the stock mounts will work fine
     
  7. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    ^^ dito..when i put a z6 into my first hatch i had to take drivers side mount off my old motor (d15b7) and put it onto the z6. not sure if youll have to or not
     
  8. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    You will however need to buy a manual tranny p28 or sohc vtec ecu. The auto ecu won't work properly.
     
  9. Dasfinc

    Dasfinc New Member

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Yea, the tranny is a must.

    You can also get your ECU chipped to work with a manual transmission from a company like Phearable.net
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page