1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16 Tranny Swap Questions

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by stiegz1983, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. stiegz1983

    stiegz1983 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Hey Guys,

    I'm doing a transmission swap on my 98 Civic EX auto. I'm using a 97 lx sedan as the donor car. Both cars use a 3 wire iacv sensor. I've read that 98 ex manuals have a 2 wire iacv. Will I have issues with that? Or can I leave the 3 wire intact?

    My other question is if can use my EX auto ecu? (Check engine lights don't bother me if its just freaking out because it will think it's in park)

    Thanks,
    Stiegz
     
  2. suspendedHatch

    suspendedHatch audio/security

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    The throttle body/IACV/Intake manifold will need to match the ECU.

    You can use an auto ECU but you will always have a CEL. You can't pass smog with a CEL.
     
  3. stiegz1983

    stiegz1983 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Thanks SuspendedHatch!
    I have an AEM ECU I'll use but I want to wait to install it until I have my car at the dyno. I'm pretty timid when it comes to engine tuning.
     
  4. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    Manual EX civic's for that year do use a 2 wire IACV. If you want to use that ecu you will have to get a 5 speed EX throttle body, a 2 wire IACV, the 3 wire to 2 wire IACV fix and you can either drill/tap your auto manifold to accept the 2 wire IACV or you can swap in a 5 speed manifold.
     
  5. suspendedHatch

    suspendedHatch audio/security

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    The AEM EMS can technically handle the fully electronic auto trans in your 96+ Civic, but AEM doesn't support it and there are very few if any tuners capable of wiring and setting it up properly.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page