1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16y7 to d16y5 problem

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by angel_ivan, Jul 31, 2006.

  1. angel_ivan

    angel_ivan Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    ok so i swapped the D16Y7 to a D16Y5 from a wrecked car. I used the Y7 tranny with the Y5 motor(manual). Well the problem is that 1ST gear goes to 20 MPH then "tops out," the same is true with all gears. What could be the problem. I took the Y5 wiring harness and ECU and placed it in place of the Y7, so now everything is wired up but the problem is the CEL is on and the nearest place to get it checked is 50 miles away.
     
  2. divisii

    divisii Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    You likely need to install the Y7 ecu .. Y7 is nonVTEC, & because Y5 is VTEC-E, it's having issues with the missing knock sensor, oil pressure solenoid ...etc..
    You can check CEL on your own .. you'll hafta look around for the procedure on that 1.
     
  3. angel_ivan

    angel_ivan Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    but i used the Y5 ECU and Y5 wiring harness and the Y5 engine IN THE old car which was Y7...SO YOU are saying use the Y7 ECU with the Y5 motor?
     
  4. honda kid

    honda kid New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Location:
    ulysses, kansas
    yeah i put tha y7 ecu back on but it makes it exagerrated slow lol:D
     
  5. angel_ivan

    angel_ivan Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
  6. honda kid

    honda kid New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Location:
    ulysses, kansas
    yeah this is bernz ... but who this:ph34r:
     
  7. angel_ivan

    angel_ivan Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    oooo don't worry bout it:D
     
  8. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
    sounds like you screwed your wiring. keep the y5 ecu with the y5 motor of course but check your wiring. is your dizzy ok also?
     
  9. angel_ivan

    angel_ivan Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    i sure kept everything Y5, the motor, the motor wiring harness, and ecu
     
  10. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
    no clue man. run a scan for the hell of it and see if its throwing a code anywhere
     
  11. angel_ivan

    angel_ivan Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    must be nice havin a scanner nearby, mine is 50 miles away lol
     
  12. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
    i got the hook up at the local part store. $175 OBDII scanner= free. my b/f was a parts manager there. :p
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page