1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D16Y8 Head on D16Z6 block? Various ?'s

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by TheDrizzle50, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. TheDrizzle50

    TheDrizzle50 J D M

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Ok I have a few questions here... my friend whos doing my swap said that I couldn't swap a Z6 in because there is a sensor (?) near the crankshaft that, once done, the car won't start or run. What the fuck is he talking about?

    Will this configuration work?

    D16Z6 block w/D16Y8 Head?
    What do I need to swap a Z6 in place of a Y8????? Please this is urgent. He told me to dig up information on it and I am supposed to get the engine today.
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    I would suggest telling us what kind of car this is going into, then it will be easier to help you.
     
  3. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    There is no sensor near the crankshaft on a D16Z6...

    D16Y8 will readily bolt on the D16Z6 block. Don't see why you would do it since the Z6 head flows more.
     
  4. SlowHatch101

    SlowHatch101 I Know Its Slow

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    it should run i've seen it done 3 or 4 times
     
  5. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    I'm assuming that this is going into an obd2 car which has a crank sensor. OBD1 cars do not have this sensor and that is why the Z6 won't work in your car. To make it work I would get an obd1 ecu and a conversion harness. While your at it get the ecu chipped. It is well worth while to do it anyway. Then your car will be running obd1 and won't be looking for that sensor.
     
  6. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    In OBD1 and older cars, the crank sensor is in the distributor. Not sure how the pulse is read but I'm sure it should still work.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page