1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16y8 in 88 crx wiring help please

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by harvey69us, Aug 25, 2007.

  1. harvey69us

    harvey69us New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    garden grove california
    ok im still kinda new to this but i have a d16y8 in a 88 crx now i know i have to change from obd 0 to obd 1 now whats the better ecu p28 or p06???? anmd what wires do i connect to the vtec sensor thing ????? also should i get the ecu chiped ? and if so what chip should i use ???thanx
     
  2. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    you'll either have to hardwire the vtec in, or you can buy a harness for it, the pinouts are here somewhere.. i bought my harness from Hasport, very very simple. As for getting it chipped or figuring out what chip to use i donno.. i know a lot of people running turbo applications get chipped ecu's... have you looked into Hondata at all?
     
  3. harvey69us

    harvey69us New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    garden grove california
    cool but how would i go about hard wiring the vtec ???? and were would it plugg into thanx
     
  4. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    all the wiring runs straight back to the ecu, theres a diy thread on here somewhere... but its easier just to pick the harness up from hasport. it comes with everything you need to wire it in.
     
  5. spinninhonda

    spinninhonda New Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    there is a tab that says search click it, as for buying from hasport why waste money rather than waste money over 3 wires, as far as obd1 chipping, use CROME, it is the best out there for obd1 IMO
     
  6. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    yes we're all aware of the search button, as for buying from hasport, im assuming since he doesnt even know which wires plug into it... he doesnt even have the plugs, so it would make sense to order that harness bc its relatively cheap, and its minimal work to install.
     
  7. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    if you are converting from OBD0 to OBD1, you need an OBD0 to OBD1 ECU jumper harness which you can purchase from someone like Rywire.com - it will have the wires for the VTEC, Knock, etc. already wired into it and you will just need to feed them out to the engine bay and connect them up to the engine - it will come with instructions
     
  8. spinninhonda

    spinninhonda New Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    dont get an attitude over nothing, appearently your not to sure about the swap cuz your previous post show that, if you dont know how to run wires than dont try to make it, just blow 200 bucks on a hasport harness for a couple extra wires
     
  9. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    hmm.. when my cousin did his d16z6 his jumper harness didnt come with the vtec.. he had to buy that seperate... but i dont think he got it from rywire. and spinnin.. if your spending 200 for a vtec subharness.. your getting ripped off... hasport sells it on their site for less than half that price.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page