1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16y8 in a 93 integra

Discussion in 'Integra' started by competitiveaudioman, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. competitiveaudioman

    competitiveaudioman New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    like the title says..is it doable? what mounts would it need? just curious
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2007
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yea it can be done but its not worth it at all the stock b18a would be better
     
  3. competitiveaudioman

    competitiveaudioman New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    i know but thats not what im asking. what do i need to get it in
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    welder, custom shift linkage, convert it to obd2,custom axles.new ecu
     
  5. NightCat

    NightCat New Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    dude..I had one of these in my old civic...dont do it.

    if you want it for it's VTEC, just LS/VTEC your B18A1.
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Please explain why you want to do this. If you're in some weird situation where your stock motor and transmission are trashed, and you've got a D16Y8 motor, tranny, and ecu just laying around, and you're a decent fabricator, and you just need to get your car running (i.e. you're not interested in performance at all) then I guess it might be worth a try...

    If you want to do this just to be different though, well...don't. It would be really stupid. You'd need to make custom engine and transmission mounts and convert to OBD2. That's way too much work to put a single cam motor in a car that came with a dual cam from the factory.
     
  7. competitiveaudioman

    competitiveaudioman New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    its not for me. my buddy wanted to know. i think its stupid too lol.
     
  8. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yeah, it is stupid. Tell him to read this thread.
     
  9. competitiveaudioman

    competitiveaudioman New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    lol. he rode in a turbo'd d series and was impressd wit the pick up so he wanted to do the same. i told him to just rebuild his b18a and boost that but he likes being the underdog i guess. he just wantd to kno if it was doabl but it sounds like a huge pain!
     
  10. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I believe it's the same as putting a Y8 in a 88-91 Civic/CRX(transmission mount may be different though), and use a 88-91 transmission(92+ is hydraulic).

    Also, he doesn NOT need to convert to OBD2...since the 93 Integra is OBD1 anyways..
     
  11. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yeah he could get about the same result if not better with a turbo set up on his B18. Swapping a D in there would just be a waste of time and money to lose a cam and a few horsepower. He's better off just starting the boost project with his current motor. Why waste money on a retarded swap like that when he could just turbo what he's got with similar results?

    And yeah, true on the OBD conversion, although I still think he should just stick with the B18 and ditch the D16 swap idea.
     
  12. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    For MPG? If it's for economy...then technically he's putting more money in his pockets in the long run.
     
  13. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    I don't think it's for fuel economy. The guy said his buddy rode in a boosted d-series Civic and liked the acceleration, so he was wondering if he could put a D16 into his Integra and boost that. At least that's what I gathered. I don't think gas mileage is his consideration for wanting the D.

    Like I said, if he's wanting to boost, he might as well stick with the B18 he already has. He could get similar or even better results with the same type of turbo setup.
     
  14. competitiveaudioman

    competitiveaudioman New Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    so what kind of boost levels would he be looking at with a rebuilt b18a and a good tune? (stock engine)
     
  15. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    he would still need to convert it to obd2
     
  16. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
  17. khrisb

    khrisb ******

    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    :tard:
    Find a new friend...I knew a guy that put a B16 into his DA with bolt-ons and he actually ran slower than before, B18 stock.

    :ph34r:
     
  18. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    He can either convert his car to run OBD2 or convert the motor to run OBD1. Converting the motor would be the easier choice.
     
  19. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    ^^^ yea that either way something will have to be converted
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page