1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D16y8 Intake manifold question

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by straightshot08, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. straightshot08

    straightshot08 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Can I use the sensors and the throttle body off of a d16y7 intake manifold on a d16y8 intake manifold?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yes i think its a straight swap but im only about 80 % on that.
     
  3. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    Sensors yes. As for the throttle body you can if you are keeping the engine as a Y7, but there is a small hole on the throttle body opening on the Y8 manifold that will have to be covered. The hole is obvious if you compare the Y7 opening to the Y8.
     
  4. straightshot08

    straightshot08 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    What about if Im putting a D16z6 head on my y8 block and I wana use the y7 intake manifolds sensors and thorttle body?
     
  5. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I have a Y8 manifold on a Z6 head. I didn't have to block anything but then again I hve a Y8 TB aswell.
     
  6. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    y8 manifolds are confusing there are 2 versions auto and manual and the iacv ports are not machined on a auto intake and it also has the 3 wire iacv on it.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page