1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16y8 swap question

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by edub, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. edub

    edub New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    I recently picked up a 97 civic hatch that has the entire d16y8 motor in it, im having some issues with it and im pretty sure i know why. Issues are minor, slightly surging idle and engine like, code 45, running too rich.

    1. Its running the stock p2e computer (cx computer)
    2. Swap engine was from an automatic (car is 5 speed)


    So ive picked up a p2p ecu and a 5 speed intake manifold and throttle body with the IACV on the back (2 wire).

    Ive been reading on here and most of the swaps have been mini-me's so i have a couple questions.

    1.Does my d16y8 have a knock sensor, and will i have to wire it in, if so how?
    2.Obviously i have to run wires from the Ecu to the vtec solenoid, do i do this directly from the ecu? or from a harness in the engine bay, again how?
    3. I foudn the diagram and write up on converting the 3 wire plug on my cx harness to the 2 wire on the Y8, seems pretty straight forward.


    Thanks for your help
    cheers.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2007
  2. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    first off i dont think you can use the cx ecu unless its chipped for vtec. imo the easiest way is to go to a junk yard and get the wires and pins from another car and run them from the vtec sol. and pressure switch to the ecu
     
  3. edub

    edub New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Im not using the cx ECU, its on it right now and thats where im getting some of the problems from, its fine for daily driving, just no vtec and it runs rich.

    Ive got a p2p ecu (from a 97 si) which im going to put in but im just curious of what wires have to be run? mainly is it just for vtec, and knock sensor?
     
  4. custompainter

    custompainter drive it like U stole it

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    central CT
    hey kid whats up
    yeah your y8 has a knock sensor it's on the back of the block by your oil presure sensor (about 3 inches above it )
    your going to have to wire the vtec up and also the vtec presure switch as well run these all throw the fire wall directly to the ecu here a pin out chart for info on where to wire everything up to on the ecu side
    one other quick thing you need to ground the one of the wires on the vtec presure switch to the frame of your car other wise the vtec wont pop

    i'm assuming your car is obd2a
    .:FFS TechNet : OBD2a ECU Pin out Schematics :. <<<< Click here for pin outs......

    let me know how you make out
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. edub

    edub New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Ok beautiful, ill be giving this a go in the next 2 weeks i would say, im sure ill have some more questions as i get going, but thanks for the info.
    This will be my first messing aroudn with the wiring so im hoping it goes well lol.
     
  6. edub

    edub New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    So my old motor didnt have a knock sensor? and yes im OBD2
     
  7. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    Yeah youll have to do exactly what custompainter said!
    *REP* 4 YOU
     
  8. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    bump, how do u wire up the knock? mines not workin
     
  9. edub

    edub New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    The knock is the blue plug at the back of the motor, just run a pin to the ecu (see the diagram for pin location) then get the connector that plugs into the knock sensor location (below the intake manifold on the back of the block) run the wire and bingo.
     
  10. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    yeah well ive run the wire. there are 2 wires, i grounded one out and ran the other to the ecu.

    didnt work so i swapped them and still same thing
     
  11. 94civic_si

    94civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    texas
    hey are all d16y8's obd2?
     
  12. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    do a little resaerch but yes they are
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page