D16Y8

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

mikeymike

Hey guys i'm new to all this stuff, so have some patients with me, i have been driving hondas all my life, and now would like to get into whole thrill of doing some performance to engines, my question is what can be done to a d16y8 engine to improve the horse power, without spending to much money, i know it would be easy to just swap the engine out of my civic, but for now just looking to start with this engine. Thanks for your help

AEM Intake, Stainless Steel header, full exhaust.

Intake is about 150, header 200-500 depending on what kind you get, exhaust is usually around 500-600.

You can easily make your Y8 more potent than a B16... and you'll be lighter too, so you'll be faster and handle better.

:)

Drop in the standard I/H/E, then later swap out the pistons for slugs from a Civic GX for 12.5:1 compression, slap in a good aftermarket cam like the Crower stage 3, then tune tune tune.

I have no clue on how much you want to spend but you could go the route of forced induction. Just make sure you pick up a Greddy or Apexi kit for quicker spool up then a T3/T4 kit. Also some 440 RC injectors, a FMIC, Boost controller, BOV and a AFC Hack or Hondata is always good then take that boost to 8 or 10 (whaterver you want) get it turned and have some fun.

Originally posted by Afipunk21@Jul 17 2003, 12:45 PM
AEM Intake, Stainless Steel header, full exhaust.

Intake is about 150, header 200-500 depending on what kind you get, exhaust is usually around 500-600.

you DO realize that the 150 for intake, 300 for headers, 600 for exhaust adds up to a grand total of

1050 dollars.

for 400 more dollars you can buy a bolt on greddy turbocharger....

and smoke every other civic out there with h/i/e....

go HERE for more information. the guys are extremely helpfull and you can do the installation yourself.

Originally posted by karnash@Jul 20 2003, 12:49 PM