D16z6 ECU options?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

cooperstock

Hi,
I just joined the forum and I am new to honda engines, but not new to engine swaps (did the Rx7 LS1 swap).

I picked up a D16 vtec engine pretty cheap. But the engine does not have an ECU. I was considering building the motor... but I think I am going to leave it pretty stock for now, I will probably want to add a small turbo setup but nothing requiring upgrades of the internals.
But I need an ECU.

What ECU should I be looking for for this D16z6 if I want to add a mild turbo setup? I am interested in options and pros/cons.

I can put together my own megasquirt but that seems excessive for this. If I need more power I will go to the B series motor like people are suggesting. But this is going into a 1963 corvair as a rear engine upgrade from the 80hp flat 6 cylinder. :)

Thanks!

P28 is the stock ECU; which is also supported by aftermarket software that lets you write chips for the ECU(Crome, Neptune, eCtune, Hondata, etc.). The P05, and P06 ECU are similar but do not have VTEC hardware. P08 is similar, but does not support purge solenoid, heated O2, and is foreign(JDM).

The P28 is the most popular option for people wanting to tune their cars; and works on other Honda engines.

Look for a p28. That's obd1. When you go to tune it you can just tune it on chrome, it's free.
If your going to turbo that's what I'd use.

It should also be noted that the stock ECUs, reprogrammed, can be just as powerful if not more powerful than a "regular" MS setup(non-MS3X, etc.).

Thank you, so when someone says they are selling a 'chipped' P28, what does that mean? from what I have gathered it means someone has put a socket on the board and a different chip? Does it allow for more tunability? Would I need that for this application?