1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16z6 head on a obd0 1.5 block?

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by HondaElite, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. HondaElite

    HondaElite senior member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    fall river.mass
    i want to mini me my coupe..as of right now i have a 1.5 vtec-e or d15z1..i want a mini me cuz the d15z1 is pointless unless its for gas milage lol..so the question is can i use the d16z6 head on a obd0 1.5 block?..thanks for veiwing/helping
     
  2. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    yes but you have to run and obd-1 harness, and i would suggest an obd-1 ecu as well. Much easier to find tuning for.
     
  3. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    I think you're confused dude. If your car is a 92 then it is OBD1. All 92-95 Civics are.
     
  4. 1989civichatch

    1989civichatch jdm

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Derby, Kansas
    he said the block is obd0 not the head

    and it does not matter obd for blocks, just the head
    so use the ecu from the z6 head
     
  5. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    No, reread it. He said the OBD0 engine is a D15Z1, which is the 92-95 Civic VX motor. There was no OBD0 single-cam VTEC motor, at least not in the States (and not ever, to my knowledge). If the 1.5 liter he has is actually a D15Z1, then it's already set up for OBD1.

    But like you said, it doesn't really matter. He just needs to use the Z6 head and ECU. Since his car is already wired for OBD1 though, that will make things even easier.
     
  6. 1989civichatch

    1989civichatch jdm

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Derby, Kansas

    my bad, yeah your right
     
  7. HondaElite

    HondaElite senior member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    fall river.mass
    no no..sorry i have the d15z1 in my car which is 0bd1...i have a spare block its a d15 from a crx which=obd0.....im asking to do it with the 0bd0 block only because i heard that i cant use the 1.5 vtec block...i heard that the d16z6 head will lower my compression to much...and make it pointless..is it true? so basicly which block should i use?? thanks guys and sorry for the confusement
     
  8. HondaElite

    HondaElite senior member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    fall river.mass
  9. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    I would read about this too. there have been a million mini me topics, but anyways find a z6 head and yes you can run obd-1 with an obd-0 block. What mods do you have on the car?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page