1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D16Z6 (Mini Me Swap) Into OBD0 Civic

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by HCR, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. HCR

    HCR New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    First off, im new to honda swap.com and have a tech question that i need to figure out before i start doing things backwards.

    I WILL be searching aswell but figured posting this is not going to hurt either.

    so im taking my d15 non vtec out of my 89 CX hatch and putting in a D16z6(d16a6 bottom end)

    Engine came out of an SI CRX which was running a PM6 ECU. Vtec was never wired up.

    Im planning on running my OBD0 PR3 and dont want to change to OBD1.

    So my questions are: Is it going to be easier to use my CX wire harness or should i use the CRX si harness?

    My PR3 does have the conectors and wires still so im going to be splicing on of these engine harness regardless.

    The d16z6 is already MPFI so that part saves me some time but im just trying to get some solid answers regarding this swap.

    I do appreciate any help/reccomendations BESIDES converting to OBD1.
     
  2. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    so your planning on running a vtec motor with a non-vtec ecu?
     
  3. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    you need to use your DPFI engine harness and make the DPFI to MPFI changes to it - the Si engine harness is not compatible with the DPFI chassis harness
     
  4. HCR

    HCR New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    PR3 is OBD0 B16A ECU (vtec)

    the crx that im taking this engine out was already converted to MPFI. im taking that harness aswell.


    So my plan was to just use the CRX si harness which has been converted to MPFI and just wire up my B16a ECU to the harness.
     
  5. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    oh my bad i misread it. i thought you were using a pm6
     
  6. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    you lost me. if it was an si harness it wouldn't have been converted to mpfi because it already is mpfi to begin with...

    since your car is a cx you need to use the cx harness and convert to mpfi. the only way you can use an si engine harness is if you also use the si cabin harness. also, as you already know the pr3 is for a dohc vtec b16a. sooo that is not exactly going to run your z6 quite as well as a p28 would.
     
  7. HCR

    HCR New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    ^thanks for clarifying that Harness issue, i wasnt sure if i was able to use CX cabin harness and SI engine harness.

    only reason im running a PR3 is because i dont have an other ECU to use other than my stock oem one. and id wrather not ghetto rig a vtec switch or anything along those lines.
     
  8. HCR

    HCR New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Ok..new issue.....because this is my first swap0 on my own bear with me guys/girls. few months back i bought the PR3 for a b16a i was going to build, had no intentions on using it on a SOHC till recently...

    BUT because when i bought the ECU I "assumed" it was for a M/T car....i was wrong...

    after going through the pinouts its pinnedout for an Auto car. So now im screwed...

    Now its either i run the PM6 with no vtec, or i get my PR3 chipped.

    I want to keep the entire thing OBD0 is possible.

    but any suggestions im open to at this point.

    Ive currently got a PM5, PM6, and PR3.
     
  9. HCR

    HCR New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Back again guys, i really appreciate your help!

    because my car is a basemaodel cx (STD) and the car that my new engine came out of was an Si i have the entire Si wiring harness (Engine and cabin).

    Is it even worth it for me to use the entire Si harness considering all the wiring to run the new engine has already been done by the previous owner?


    OR should i just continue to use my CX Cabin harness and use the SI Engine harness.

    i know that a few plugs do not match up such as the Distributor wires (pinout locations are not the same on both)

    So essentially ive added a bit more work for myself by wanting to run the PR3 due to its vtec capabilities.

    So my optuons are:

    PR3 ECU
    CX Chassis wiring harness
    Si Engine Harness

    OR
    PR3 ECU
    FULL Si Wiring....

    obviously the latter seems simple but then again wont it be more woprk in the end to convert everything to Si?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page