d16z6 problem

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

delsolproject112

ok so after switching heads and doing valve lashing i didnt touch the timing belt i left it the way it came off the cam gear and figured i could just slip it back on without having to worry about timing. Everything was TDC but now it idles raugh and when you twist the distributor it either runs "better" or worse better being still crap. and when i give it gas it hesitates at about 4500rpm for like half a second? could this be because my timing is off? this is my first project so any help would be wonderful!

you can never take off the belt and slip it back on the cams like the way it sounds here. you have to reset the timing AND the tensioner. check to see that your engine doesnt require you to set the oil pump timing too i forget which engines require this off the top of my head but some do require this. be sure you set the cam gear timing marks correctly too. and if you have adjustable cam gears swap those to stock ones or go to a serious race shop and have them do your timing belt. no offense but adjustable cam gears are not for a first project person in my opinion. now when you swapped the head did you do a valve job and use a new head gasket set? you can reuse timing belts but for 45 bucks you caould get a new one. i recomend using dealer ones for inportant parts like these. timing belts and head gasket. distributor cap and rotors too are on my deaper part use only list.

get a cam gear lock tool from mac tools to help you. the cams always want to shift because of the valve springs pushing the rocker arms against the cam lobes. this tool is a big help for even the profesional technicians.

re-check your cam timing.
i always turn the engine over (counter-clockwise only) by hand a couple times and check it again.
then use a timing light to set ignition base timing to 16*btdc.

Last edited: