1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D16Z6 swap, how do I know if VTEC works?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by ncduckman, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. ncduckman

    ncduckman New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Good day all,

    I am a noob and have found your site to be a valuable resource for my d16z6 swap in my 1992 DX sedan. My old motor let go after I was lazy about maintenance after 220xxx miles.

    Anyhow, I picked up a d16z6, harness, and P28 ECU and did the swap. It was pretty easy. It started right away and had no CELs. Car runs fine and pulls pretty good, but I do not know if I have VTEC or not.

    I am new to VTECs so I have no idea what to expect when it kicks it. I have pulled the solenoid and cleaned the screen. I checked the solenoid and it clicks just fine. I know if there was something wrong with the solenoid I should get a CEL.

    Now, with the valve cover off, and the engine cranking, the 3 rockers (for lack of a better term) should all move, but the middle one (VTEC) should oscillate more than the outside two when if the VTEC pins are not engaged, right?

    I pulled the rocker cover off and was fiddling with the rockers. If the VTEC pins were stuck then the middle rocker would not be able to rotate freely, as it would be locked with the other two rockers, right?

    I am probably just wasting my time, but wanted to take it apart anyways to see how it worked. Maybe my VTEC is working just fine, but it not that noticeable.

    Thanks,

    Robert
     
  2. ncduckman

    ncduckman New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Right now I am tachless. But that will change as I am getting an instrument cluster from an EX. I was told that the DX was not prewired for VTEC, is this true? I was under the impression that it was wired for VTEC and that the swap was plug and play, provided that I had the engine harness for the VTEC motor. Am I wrong?

    If it was not prewired, would I not be getting CELs?

    Thanks,
    Robert
     
  3. delsolcharlie

    delsolcharlie New Member

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Augusta< GA
    you wont be able to feel the VTEC kick in at all, youll just see like the other guy saw a slightly faster movement in the tach, not enough to feel, mine doesnt feel like it is kicking in either but it is, if it didnt work you would def notice a drag in the engine after 5 grand, D-series VTECs are one stage and the B-series, the more noticable VTEC is a two-stage VTEC
     
  4. delsolcharlie

    delsolcharlie New Member

    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Augusta< GA
    i read it somewhere im not sure though...vtec is a single stage on SOHC and two stage on DOHC..im trying to find where i heard about it and when i find it, ill post it up
     
  5. D15Beater

    D15Beater HNFTuning

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Concord N.C.
    i noticed this today in my boys GSr. You can here the exhaust note change, pop vtec, at 4500, then again in the later rpm's. Would this be dual stage???
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page