1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D16Z6 swap in 90 dx hatch

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 90_EF_Hatch, Oct 31, 2007.

  1. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    I just bought a D16Z6 and im about to put it into my 1990 civic hatch. My old motor(D16A6) had a lot of wiring when i was getting ready to take it out. Im using the old transmisions on my Z6 because the transmission it came with is hydraulic and my car is cable. but other than that i wanted to know if the wiring will still be the same for the new motor and if my old ECU will work or if i need to get the p26 i think it is (correct me if i am wrong) before it can drive. Among other things i have to replace the head gasket on the Z6 and i was just wondering if anyone had any advice to help me in the process. We already got the old motor out so is there any prep work i should do before i put the new motor in?

    sorry if its long but this is my first motor swap and im still fairly new to the car world.
     
  2. Domi31

    Domi31 Member

    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    the ecu for the z6 is a P28
    You can use the old wire harness but must add some extra wires for VTEC, VTEC oil press... ect.

    Also you need an OBD0 to OBD1 ecu jumper so you can plug in the ECU

    there is more but cant think of it, hopfully some one has your answers
     
  3. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    It helps a little.

    I got the motor in on friday and it works like a charm for the most part.

    I need a new MAP sensor, and eventually a new wiring harness.


    I also have a vacuume leak ... will that cause any problems?

    and The guy that helped me put in my Motor told me i need to get a VTEC contoller to run VTEC because the p28 ECU wont work. What kind should i get and what will i have to do wirting wise?

    thanks for the help so far
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    dont use a vtec comtroller, just wire it up right and the p28 ecu will do its job, you will have to convert it to obd1, and unless you have a si or hf you will need to covert it to mpfi also, use your cars stock harness, and just run the extra wires you need
     
  5. blackice90HB

    blackice90HB Senior Member

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida

    Your Helper is an idiot. are you OBD1 or OBD0? get a jumper harness, they usually come with vtec, 02, and distro subharnesses. that way everything plugs in like factory, and yes it does work. If you dont belive me come ride in my hatch.
     
  6. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    where do i need to go to get one of those jumper harnesses, and where do the wires i need to connect come from? I am obd0. thats why im having this problem. But would a VTEC controller just be more of a hassle?? Because i thinmk the stock VTEC kick in on the P28 is 4800 rpm and i probably would want to set it a little lower ... maybe 3800?? or is that not suggested.
     
  7. blackice90HB

    blackice90HB Senior Member

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    3800 is to early on a stock D16Z6. 4500-4800 is perfect to me, takes advantage of both profiles of the cam. No use of engeging vtec earlier than nessesary, get max power you can from both profiles. The low end seems to go out buy 4500, when it switches over its really smooth pickup untill red line. From driving mine, I say 4500-4800 is perfect.

    All you need is:
    jumper harness
    4 Wire O2 sensor
    D16Z6 Distributor
    P28 ECU

    if you need your harness modified, I do that.
     
  8. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas

    thanks ... that helps clear things up alot ...

    i like to get a second opinion because my friend that helps me out on cars will bull shit and tell me things that he doesnt know about for sure and swear its true.

    also anyone have any advice for fixing a rattle in my exhaust?
     
  9. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    well you could run a pw0 and stay obd 0. i'm not sure how the fuel mixture will be but i know you can run it like that if your desperate. The p28 is a much better ecu though. At least the most popular for obd1 tunes. Your motor is stock so vtec engagement should not be messed with AT ALL! Its there for a reason.

    Call up rywire and have them send you their harnesses. You will instructions and the subharness for you ecu and dizzy. All you would do is follow directions and enjoy your vtec.

    ohh and get rid of the helper.
     
  10. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    ok ... so i have been looking uo the ECU stuff and what not ...

    It seems like im looking at about 150 for a new p28 ECU ...

    but this guy came into my work yeasterday and we started talking about cars (he has a 93 hatch with a GSR) and he told me that he knew where i could get a p28 that was "Flashed" (not too sure what that means exactly):huh: and had a spoon racing chip for like 80 bucks ... is that a good deal?

    also i havent looked into it too too much but it seems that im gonna have to drop about a bill for the obd0 to obd1 conversion harness thing. Is that right or am i about to get juiced? lol. :confused:


    ALSO ... if i didnt mention it before ...

    I messed up my map sensor during the swap and now i need a new one ...
    are there different types of map sensors (I.E. OBD0, OBD1, etc.) and if so should i get an obd0 like the one i broke or an obd1???


    sorry so many questions. The more i learn about Hondas the more questions i have. :ph34r:


    thanks again for everyones help ^_^
     
  11. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Ok so ...


    I met this guy today who used to work at a popular race shop around here (Intercrew) .... and he used to drive the same car i did ... and long story short he is gonna hook me up with an LS with a GSR Head and Type R ECU for about $100 ...


    he has all the parts i need for it (axles, intake, mounts, etc.) because he used to have the same car. So pretty much for nostalgic reasons he is gonna help me fix mine up.


    i dunno how but i just keep ending up at the right place at the right time.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page