D16z6 swap in EF hatch

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

//Zee-Roh//

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum as well, and contemplating this swap for my 90 Si hatch w/ 190k on it... a couple of questions I had were:

How much has the project set you back thus far?

How much time did it take (after everything was there) to get it in and running?

1-10, how difficult was the overall swap?

Now, for the seasoned hondaswap veterans:

My alltrac is down (being built), and I need a swap that after I amass all of the parts, and get my prep done beforehand, I can bust the swap out in a weekend. Is this possible? This is my only running car, so I definately don't want it to be down forever. Also, I plan on boosting it, so do you guys have any tips on turbo kits/boost levels/etc. on this engine swap? I'm a delivery driver, so it'd HAVE to be COMPLETELY reliable (as my D16a6 is right now).

Thanks in advance!

-Joel

I just did this swap, so I'll help you out as much as I can.

1. I bought a z6 with an SI trans for $450 [locally], but it turned out to have a warped head, so I figured I'd just have it built, so don't ask me what it's costed now... however, if you find a deal like I did ($450), + ECU harness and stuff, look for around $600 total(being optimistic).

2. Time- it depends. If your experienced and have done a swap before, and know exactly how to wire in vtec and o2 sensor, maybe 1/2 a day. if this is your first time, expect at least a day or so.(motor should be bolted in the car in about 15 min., then comes axles, coolant lines, radiator, harness and hoses.

3. hmm... it's hard to really say, but if you know what to do, wiring wise, I'd say maybe a 2-3 (my thinking being a B-series is a 4-5, H-series 6-7, and K-series 8-10)