1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16z6 swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by thegreat1310, Apr 18, 2005.

  1. thegreat1310

    thegreat1310 Senior Member

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    frederick,md
    me and my freind just installed a d16z6 into his 92 hatchback dx we got the car running but it stays at 2000rpm when running.anybody know what the problem could be? thanks for any help provided
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Throttle cable
    vacuum leak
    intake manifold or throttle not properly seated

    and a few other things but those are what I would check first.
     
  3. thegreat1310

    thegreat1310 Senior Member

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    frederick,md
    no all that stuff is cool, when i first start it its normal at 900rpm then 5 seconds later i can hear a valve kick in at the back of the thorttle body and it stays at 2000rpm o yeah we are using the dx ecu is that the problem? i put in my p28 but its for an auto z6
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Well try replacing it with a known good one, and see if that fixes the problem.
     
  5. slammedb18acivic

    slammedb18acivic Senior Member

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Location:
    pa

    i would check and make sure that you have all your sensors plugged into the right plugs
     
  6. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    yeah dude, def. sounds like a sensor

    throwing any CEL's?

    when I first got the GSR in the hatch, had the same problem

    half of it was due to the throttle cable and the other half was because the MAP wasn't wired properly

    MY dx actually had two plugs that appeared to me MAP plugs- One came directly off the same harness tail as the TPS plug and the other one just came from a random location out of the firewall on the passenger side- Turns out the random one from the firewall was the right plug
     
  7. 92d15b

    92d15b Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    one problem is the auto ecu the other is check to make sure the connectors for the iac valve iat sensor and the vacuumm controled sensor to the right of those are plugged in right becuse all three of those connectors will fit on each other i know i had the same problem with mine
     
  8. slammedb18acivic

    slammedb18acivic Senior Member

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Location:
    pa

    you just confused the hell out of me .. . :huh:
     
  9. thegreat1310

    thegreat1310 Senior Member

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    frederick,md
    we fixed the problem, its was a bad map sensor
     
  10. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Werd up, like it?
     
  11. thegreat1310

    thegreat1310 Senior Member

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    frederick,md
    i will like it better when the t3 is spoolin
     
  12. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page