1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D16Z6 to D16Y7 with Headswap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Elbo, Jul 20, 2006.

  1. Elbo

    Elbo Junior Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    I have a 1995 Del Sol with the D16Z6, I loaned it to a friend and he managed to blow all the oil out of it, It still runs but extremely rough. I was told that the block is messed up but the head is fine.

    I don't have a big wad of $$, But need to keep the car going. The JDM D16Z6's seem to be rather rare now, I have found several D16Y7's I can afford off of Ebay.

    The Y7's are both long block and mated to Auto Trans, Mine is 5spd manual.

    Can I take the Y7 Block and put my Z6 Head on it and keep all my current electronics? I could also get a Y8, but they are a lot more $$
     
  2. divisii

    divisii Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    All should fit your head. automatic motors are compatible to manual.

    The stock Y7 (106hp) has 2 weaknesses compared to Y8(127hp):
    1 the integral cat-exhaust manifold tends to get too hot & crack,
    2 it's a non-vtec motor so it has low torque AND horsepower AND redline.

    Why not use the $$ to rebuild the Z6 block ... probably repairable?
     
  3. Elbo

    Elbo Junior Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Wouldn't the Y7 with a Z6 head produce the 127hp?
    It would essentially become a Minime. .

    I was quoted $2k for rebuild, I can get the Y7 long block for $250, local pickup



    The stock Y7 (106hp) has 2 weaknesses compared to Y8(127hp):
    1 the integral cat-exhaust manifold tends to get too hot & crack,
    2 it's a non-vtec motor so it has low torque AND horsepower AND redline.

    Why not use the $$ to rebuild the Z6 block ... probably repairable?
     
  4. divisii

    divisii Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    duh, for me.
    I'd say you're right on the output... when set up for VTEC you have a "minime"
    Other than VTEC, Y7 & Y8 are the same... your compression should change, too.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page