d16z6

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Status
Not open for further replies.

dominicano

im getting a crx or hatch and was looking at getting a zc but now ive noticed the sohc vtec, now my ?s are how reliable is this engine and would i get more performance than a zc? thanx in advance for any help...

I am not an engine expert but for reliability depends on the condition of each individual engine. As for the differences, I checked the reference section and I compared the ZC engines to the D16Y8 (97-2000 civic ex SOHC vtec) and they are both about the same compression and displacement. Now the ZC pushed out a pony or two and it does not come with vtec but I think that is due to more aggressive cams (not sure but I read it on here somewhere). As for price I think you can find sohc vtec cheaper because everyone always swaps B series engines.

If I am wrong please correct me. This is my first answer to a engine question. Normally I'm asking the questions :spin:

Sorry, I'm going to have to correct you.

The ZC that most people swap in produces more power than the SOHC VTEC engines because of a few simple things... more aggressive fuel mapping (although almost nobody runs the original ECU), TWO camshafts, and a different head setup. All the other D blocks are single cams (except the 86-89 Integra).

The SOHC VTEC engines have considerably MORE aftermarket support than the DOHC ZC. They're more popular, they actually came standard in the States, and they're newer. It's very difficult to find DOHC ZC upgrade parts.