1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Damn computer

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by xj0hnx, Oct 4, 2004.

  1. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Ok Computer gurus, help me out.

    I had been running a "grey market" Windows XP, and then when I installed Service Pack 2, it said I had to register it, so I dumped it and now I have a real XP Home and it's registered, and what not.

    The problem is that when I am scrolling through the screen it always seems to be behind it self then it catchs up. Also when I watch movies, it is choppy at best. I have DVD Idle Pro, and PowerDVD, but the DMA enable won't stay on on Idle Pro. It says it has to restart, then it does, and then it's disabled again. The DMA is set in my Device Manager.

    Anyone know what the hell is going on? Or am I missing something somewhere else. Or is more info needed.
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Also, apparently when I reinstalled windows, it didn't comletely remove the old files, because if I search for say, Photoshop, it finds it, but I can't open anything. Also when I come to the login screen, it says there is a duplicate name on the network, how can I fix these two problems.
     
  3. allmotord16rex

    allmotord16rex Senior Member

    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Apparently you installed Windows XP over an existing install. Just reinstall XP and choose clean install. That should fix your problem of the duplicate name.
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :werd: That should help. Make sure all your drivers and codecs are installed and up to date too. If you want I can zip up a package and send it your way- I always keep all the codecs current on my machine.
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if your video is choppy, i bet you have an IRQ conflict with yout sound card or something
     
  6. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    XP home sucks, get XP pro.
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    xp home is the exact same thing as xp pro, minus it's abaility to join a domain network, and the features that go with that.

    so, yeah... xp home is fine.
     
  8. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Format your drive, then reinstall.
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.


    Come on Brian, I'm the computer equivolent of Tiny Tim, so ahhh how would I check that and fix it?
     
  10. driverunknown

    driverunknown Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    You need to delete the partition already made before you install. So delete the partition, then if you want, create a new one (I didn't and pc works fine) And all your stuff should work once it installs.
     
  11. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Ok, I got a format disc from a guy here, so I am going to try redoing this crap. I'll be back in an hour :)
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Well, it's all the same, all the old files appear, but none can open, and since I password protected the admin account the last time, I can't even get into it. hahahahhaa.
     
  13. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  14. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...
    if all else fails, buy a new hard drive or take a sledge hammer and beat the computer into submission...LOL
     
  15. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Jon, you've got a PM with a link in it. :)
     
  16. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home


    yeah you can.

    find the .NTUSER file in the windows root install directory. open it up, and hack yourself an admin account :)
     
  17. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    How do I do that? Or is it pretty self explainatory?
    Well I have an admin account from reinstalling windows, but the one from the last time is there. When I go to user accounts it doesn't show any but my present one, but if I search, I find my last one. I have been searching for old programs and shit that I can't reinstall and deleteing them one by one. Some of them I have been able to recover, but like Photoshop, and a couple others I am missing some files.
     
  18. Airjockie

    Airjockie Watanabe Whore!!!

    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Location:
    Meriden, CT, USA
  19. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Airjockey...my thoughts exactly.

    Brian, I couldn't find that file .NTUSER, so where do I look. I found the uninstall for it though. And what about the IRC conflict you were talking about.

    Mike, thanks, DLed, installed, but nothing seemed to change :(.
     
  20. DarkHand

    DarkHand Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    241
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Another important bit of info:

    Windows XP SP2 will install on a pirated version of Windows. The idea of not letting pirates use the service pack was tossed out at the last minute. The only thing SP2 won't install with is a few of the most widely circulated CDKeys. All you needed was the good XP key generator and you wouldn't have had to pay the Microsoft tax. :D
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page