1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Damn it...

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by xj0hnx, Apr 5, 2005.

  1. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Ok, so my computer totally crashed, wouldn't boot up window from either HD, nothing except well, nothing.

    Ok, so I reinstall windows, and my copy apparently is a total piece of shit and for some reason can't copy certain files, but enough to start i, and install it. So I open the disc, and copy the missing ones one at a time into my system32 file (I wrote them down as the warnings popped up).

    Ok, so I have all my drivers reinstalled, I am on the net and everything seems fine.

    I DL and install Firefox, and nothing, a error message and that is all. WTF!??!?!?!

    This is annoying.

    I am going to try uninstalling and reinstalling, does anyone have any idea why this won't run?
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Ok, now it is working, but the fucking scroll wheel isn't, damn it, I hate computers.
     
  3. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Im sure computers hate us to- specially when we load them with windows cause windows just sucks ! but its all we have for mass market
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Actually, I have a copy of Knoppix Linux, but I am not comfortable enough to use it as my primary OS. Waiting for SuSe.

    And I spoke to soon, Firefox crashed again. WTF?!?!

    Do I need Java or some shit?
     
  5. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota
    ive had the same problem at my work recently - im back to running ie-
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    I may have to live with it, but I don't like it. I am going to continue trying.
     
  7. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Is this a pirate copy of windows?
     
  8. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota
    i dont think it matters much if it is pirated version- long as the serial is leg!
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Arrrr matey, what you be sayin' is blasphamy.
     
  10. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Can anyone decipher...

    Instruction at - 0x12a3490 referenced memory at 0x012a3490 The memeory could not be "read"

    I get this when Halflife 2 loads up, then it exits.
     
  11. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast


    I was just saying, cause my only problems with Xp have been with pirate copies.
     
  12. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast


    Sounds like your video driver.
     
  13. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Interesting you say that since, I can't install the updated drivers, and am using the ones that came with the card. Hmmmm....

    Anyway, I removed my RAM, swaped all four chips around to all the slots and had some interesting results. No boot using the new pieces in the old slots, and complete failure using the new pieces alone in the two previously empty slots. Now I am using the old GB, in the two previously unused slots, and it's flying. Fuck if I know. My brother in law is coming by tomorrow to troubleshoot it, so hopefully we can get it going. I am glad I can still get online, even if I can't play HL2 :(
     
  14. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    And I am not kidding when I say flying, this shit is moving faster than it ever has, fuckin' weird.
     
  15. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Sometimes, certain boards (I think it has more to do with BIOS) don't like certain brands and speeds of memory. Even more strange is that memory that will work on its own sometimes won't work with other sticks.
     
  16. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    See, I tried to get all the same kind, at least the same set up, single sided, but I ordered 2x512 and my brother in law did too (through a miscommunication) and they are all the same speeds, but double sided, and the original two I had in where single sided, so maybe they are conflicting, and that brought the system down. I wouldn't think something so drastic would happen, but till tomorrow, I am not ruling anything out.
     
  17. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    I still want to know why my mouse will scroll on IE, but not Firafox.


    Any ideas, this is really annoying.
     
  18. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Ok, updated in other thread about what has been done. Right now with nothing installed it works ok.

    Anyway, does anyone think that running that Linux LiveDVD had anything to do with it? Since I ran it is about when it started messing up, and I have been getting I/O errors, so maybe it changed the way something looked for?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page