1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

damnit

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by JDMPlaya, Jan 17, 2006.

  1. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    okay so I was reformatting one of my older PC's I wasn't paying attention and I didn't realize I basically stacked my fresh copy of windows on top of the other ( if that makes sense ) and I have a total of 7gb free space on a 40 gig and I should of A LOT more..

    I just finished installing SP2 and everything else and I was trying to refrain from going back and starting over again.. Is there a way to delete everything else except my fresh copy & programs?

    I'm a little stoned so hopefully this makes sense.
     
  2. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    it seems to me that you never deleted the first partition. Go through it again and delete and create a new one :)
     
  3. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yeah, thats the only way. even if you delete the information your still gonna have double registry keys. so you have to format the drive and start over.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    reformat it. it will never be the same
     
  5. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    fuck man, I spent a good two hours loading all the software..
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    2 hours? wtf is it a p2?
     
  7. driverunknown

    driverunknown Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    486 system [​IMG]

    The only time it takes me that long is when I download all my crap through microsoft.
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    LOL, b...i have 3.3 hours approved time off the phone to reinstall the OS on that computer today. and guess what....the disk didnt like my product key....so its just sitting there on the product key screen...waiting for someone smarter than me to install it. I HATE MICROSOFT.......i should just put fedora core on there and call it a day.
     
  9. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    nah, I mean I loaded all the software like photoshop, games, etc.
     
  10. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    lol..I did the same thing.

    i still have the Win2k files on my HD...and it used a SHITload of space, sure I only had an 18gig HD but after XP I had about 8 left, then my programs and shit, I didn't even have 2 gigs left. I wasn't going to reformat again, so I just added another HD. [​IMG]

    If you have some HD's laying around like I do, just add it.
     
  11. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    wtf? XP takes 2gb at most...
     
  12. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I had no other programs besides the basics on Win2k. After adding XP I had 8, then my BS, 2...then I got rid of a bunch of bullshit and some XP stuff I don't use and got an extra 3 gigs...but i maxxed out the next day so I deleted more shit I don't need...

    before the new HD...I had

    [​IMG]
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page