1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dell Laptop help

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by reckedracing, Jun 7, 2005.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    so my cousin graduated from cortland(ny) this weekend, i went to his house for a party, ended up trying to fix his computers...

    one - a compaq presario 5000
    fried...
    viruses or some fucked up shit, would not boot up...

    re-installed windows 98 instead of win ME, and it works again now... still need to reinstall drivers and all that shit, but it boots now...

    so he gave me his dell laptop that he bought for 400 prob 2 years ago

    pentium 3, 12 gig, 120 mb i think...
    etc

    anyway, it boots from the HD and automatically prompts to a screen from win 98 setup, where you can enter the user name, and company
    enter whatever you want and it says cannot open agreement, the computer will now shut down...
    great...

    start it in safe mode and it doesn;t do dick...

    remove hard drive, boot from cd, get no where, no fixed drive...

    boot from cd, try and put hard drive in and it turns the computer off...
    yea, i know its bad...

    i was told the A drive doesn't work...
    and i don't know how to get into bios to get it to boot from the cdrom on startup...

    anyone know?
     
  2. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    try the delete key when you boot it up.
     
  3. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
  4. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    ok, how about this one...

    his compaq had win ME i think, it has the key code on the case for ME, but i do not have a ME cd...

    is it legal to download the cd if you have legally purchased the product and had it installed at one time?
     
  5. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Saddly enough it is illegal to download ME (although i use my disk as a coaster)

    And on my Inspiron 600m i think its F10 to get into the bios. If you still cant get it, press tab and it should tell you what button to hit for the BIOS.
     
  6. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    tried delete and F1, and still not able to get into bios...

    this laptop is kicking my ass...

    anyone know if someone/anyone makes a jumper to hook up a laptop drive as a secondary HD on a PC?

    gonna make a start up disk today on a WIN98 machine and see if i can get anywhere with the a drive, but i was told the A drive doesn't work...

    it says that windows did not finish installing but i can't get into anything to format and reinstall unless i don't have the HD in...
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    f12 and f11 are the most common keys.

    win 98 is not El torito (bootable) though.
     
  8. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    well, if i pull the hard drive out of the dell it will boot up and ask if i want to boot from the cd or from the HD, i selest boot from cd and it goes into win98 setup, but then says there's no hard disk to install the OS to...
     
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,581
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    on my old dell latitude cpiA400 it was ESC that got you into bios.
     
  10. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    the 3 dell laptops we have here are F2, to access the bios, and you need to press the key before the bios posts
     
  11. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    howbout whenever your first turn the computer on, you run your fingers over the F keys making sure to hit delete and esc on the way
     
  12. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    well, got the answer

    went to see my cousin and got the books for the laptop

    when the dell screen comes up you press f2 to enter bios setup, made it boot from the cdrom and now am running win82 second edition

    wooo hooo, now i think i need to get a god damn restore cd from dell cause i'm lacking all the drivers...

    i could get them and install them one at a time but quick restore(compaq) is so much easier, see compaq thread...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page