1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Difference between auto cams and 5 speed cams?????

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by brasilianstreet, Aug 22, 2004.

  1. brasilianstreet

    brasilianstreet Senior Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    i got my b18b swap into my car and my long block i bought use to be an automatice engine and i ran with my boy who has my engine aswell in a heavier car and h epulled on me 3 cars and more so i heard that the automatic cams are different from the 5 speed? is this tru
     
  2. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,121
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I'm going to have to go with a big fat no on this one...

    perhaps you just need to learn how to drive?
     
  3. brasilianstreet

    brasilianstreet Senior Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    i know driving is definently not the answer i know how to drive beleave me and he just learned and has problems shifting into 3rd ,but der must be somethign wrong you sure the cams have nothgin to do with it ?
     
  4. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,121
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I have never heard of two Identical model/year cars having different cams because of the transmission type.

    What is your build/car/transmission vs your friends? there's got to be a difference in something you're not telling us, either that or you got different cams than what you think you have.
     
  5. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    could be ecu, condition of motor, anything...
     
  6. brasilianstreet

    brasilianstreet Senior Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004


    Well i got a Pr4 obd1 ecu my engine was converted to obd1 but i dont have the p75 ecu he does could that be it? i have intake he does too i have exhaust cut off at the rear control arm and he has open header! i have action cluth kit and 12 lbs act flywheel he has nothing i got spark plug wires he has stock . i got a ek hatch he got a ek coupe
     
  7. brasilianstreet

    brasilianstreet Senior Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    I think it's the ecu now but i thought the pr4 and obd1 p75 were the same ?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page