1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Different Engine/Same ECU

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Wokam, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. Wokam

    Wokam Junior Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Midwest
    The car is a 92 Civic VX. It previously had a B16 (from an Si) swapped in with the B16 ecu. The guy blew the engine and left the ecu when he sold the car to me. I put a B18B1 in. He said I could use that ecu with my new engine, I would just have to switch out three wires going to the ECU. Can anyone tell me which three? Or if this is even correct?
     
  2. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    You dont need to rewire anything, you need the right ECU for the B18B.
     
  3. Wokam

    Wokam Junior Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Midwest
    awesome, thanks man.
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    He was probably telling you to remove the VTEC wiring when he talked about the "three wires going to the ECU". But yeah, you need to just get the correct ECU. The engine will run on the B16 computer, but since the new motor's a 1.8 liter the fuel maps are probably slightly different. You'll want the B18Bs computer to run the engine optimally...
     
  5. Wokam

    Wokam Junior Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Midwest
    This is all completely plug and play? I dont have to cut any wires?
     
  6. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Get a P75 and plug it in and go, dont cut any of your vtec wires off, I would tape them back into the harness out of the way, but I woulnd get rid of them if theyre already there, you may decide to do an LSVtec later on down the road, and youll already be pre-wired for vtec.
     
  7. Wokam

    Wokam Junior Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ok, so I wont have to mess with changing out individial wires right? I just have to plug in the A, B, and D harness plugs into the ecu.
     
  8. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Unplug old ECU, plug in new one, and go.^_^
     
  9. hondacivicdx92

    hondacivicdx92 Hamby

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have a P75 I am wanting to sell. OBD1, manual trans.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page