Difficulty Of Engine Swapping?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

b0n3r

I live in Australia and i was thinking of putting a B18C5 (from a '97 integra type-r front cut) into my EK Cxi Civic for a quick N/A hybrid car. I dont think much honda swapping goes on here in aus, well at least i dont here about it much, and i was just wondering how difficult it is to do. I know a fair bit about cars but i am not a mechanic or anything. I can work well practically and i have a mate whose a mechanic and i was wondering how hard it really is. In other words i would be a beginner engine swapper and if you have any suggestions or comments please post. If you know of any good links/books or anything that desribes step by step how to do a motor swap that would be great. Also if anyone has any previous experiences of doing a swap for the very first time and not working in the field of mechanics that would be cool too.

I would like to save the money i would have to spend on getting a workshop to do the conversion but the other thing is i know it would (hopefully) get done properly and with no hassles.

if you have some mechanical ablity the b18c5 into an ek is a relatively easy swap, if you run into problems, hondaswap is always here

i dont know if they have autozone in australia, but here at autozone they have hayne's manuals, and it goes step-by-step taking out a motor and putting it back in.

What motor is in the EK right now? in europe they come with B16's, I think so if yours does too. If so, all you need is the motor and it should drop right in but you might wanna change the ECU too, along with any other ITR parts you can get. If it isn't a B series motor in the EK then you need a motor mount kit, axles, shift linkage, tranny, ECU, and run wires for VTEC. Everything you need you can get from http://www.hasport.com/ and all the information is here on hondaswap. Good luck with your swap, it shouldn't be that hard.