1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIY G-meter

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by pissedoffsol, Aug 23, 2006.

  1. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  2. micah

    micah Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    panama city beach, florida
    for 170 bucks why not just buy a real one?
     
  3. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I saw a rollercoaster show on discovery channel IIRC, this scientist or teacher's g-meter was some sort of ballast with a rubber band in a marked graduated cylinder. :ph34r:" smilieid="24" class="inlineimg" />" smilieid="24" class="inlineimg" />
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Extremely cool.

    :werd: on this. My Apex'i RSM cost less than $170, and it looks better, is smaller, plus it has all the performance measuring functions in it like a G-Tech (except more accurate) and shows a few good things from the ECU too.

    That might have been my old boss. Dr. Carolyn Sumners?
     
  5. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I dont know the name, but it was a guy.
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Never mind- my old boss is a lady. :)
     
  7. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    Cal, for the apexi RMS, can it display MPH or is it still KPH only? Also, on apexi's website it says distance traveled. Is this like a normal trip odometer were its a running tally even after the car is turned off or does it reset itself after you turn the car off? (my trip odometer is broken and if I am going to spend 100 or so, I rather do it on this then a new cluster)
     
  8. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    It's metric only, so no MPH. It has an adjustable correction factor in it though, so you can calibrate it to make the numbers and distance into MPH and miles if you want to- it'll just say "KPH" on the display. You won't be able to use the G-Tech type functions on it because the unit will still be thinking in KPH. The G force meter will always work though- that's not dependent on speed measurement.

    The odometer has a memory that can be reset, but it's non-volatile and remembers distance while the car is off. Even after over a year of not bring on, mine still remembered everything.

    By the way- setting the tire size up so that the RSM shows MPH instead of KPH would be perfectly suitable for me- I've never used the G-Tech type stuff at all. I do prefer to just keep everything in KPH though. Converting on the fly is a piece of cake for me, and you get more better resolution on your speed too. That reminds me. I need to pull mine out of the Civic and install it into the S2k.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page