DIY: Shaved license plate holes

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

mac_24_seven

@pump_upp - best crypto pumps on telegram !
Alrighty then!

I am one, whipped white boy. My arms hurt.. My back hurts.. I've been hard at it today and actually got alot accomplished for a change!

Here is the step by step of what I did to shave the license plate holes.
Keep in mind, please, that I'm not a pro, this was my first time doing this and the way I went about it MAY NOT be the best.

Tools needed:

Safety goggles
Dremel w/grinding wheel
Rubber gloves
Fiberglass kit
Bondoe
Bondoe smoother/pplicator
Sanding bar
220 grit dry/wet sandpaper
A good warm day, some time and music ( I chose G'N'Roses and Shinedown)

This is what we start out with.
IMG_7760.jpg

Step 1: Tape off area around the holes
You really could probably skip this step, honestly.. But I did it anyway:p
IMG_7761.jpg

Step 2: Grind off the raised part of the bumper
Be sure to have your goggles on, cause stuff flys around pretty good. Try to make it as smooth as you can.
On the driver side part, there was a little bracket behhind the holes that seemed to be built into the bumper. I just kept grinding untill I could remove it.
IMG_7763.jpg

Step 3: Time for the fiberglass
If you've never messed w/fiberglass, I would strongly suggest practicing w/it and familiarize yourself w/mixing and layering.
I cut out about a 2x2 square from the sheet of fiberglass. I then mized up the gelatin and added hardener. Next, I placed the square I cut over the holes and dipped my finger in the mixed gelatin and rubber it over the little square of fiberglass. I did this untill it was completely soaked. I tried not to get too much so it would'nt run, since it'll just be more that you have to sand in the future. Still has alot of drippage.
IMG_7812.jpg

Step 4: Sand the fiberglass.