1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

do i need to swap out the timing belt?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by wickedplastikman, Jan 1, 2005.

  1. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    i just swapped out my gsr head with a b16 head. the timing belt is really loose even after i tighten the tensioner. i am trying to use the timing belt i had with the gsr head since it only had 500 miles on it. is this the wrong belt?
     
  2. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    are you using a b18 block?
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Generally you use the belt for the block. 1.8 block, use a 1.8 motors belt.
     
  4. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    im using the gsr block. but for some reason, there is a hell of a lot of slack in the timing belt. i am sure i ran the belt right. there wasnt as much slack when i had the gsr head on it.
     
  5. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i was always told it had to match the water pump. my ls/vtec has a b16 head, but a gsr water pump and i run a gsr timing belt.
     
  6. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    well, i have a gsr block and gsr water pump with a gsr timing belt and i can not figure out why the belt is still loose. is it possible that the tensioner is stuck?
     
  7. eicivic

    eicivic Senior Member

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003



    Well i may be wrong but i am 99% sure all DOHC V-TEC timing belts are the exact same measurements. EVEN the TYPE-R. I was at acura one day when i was getting my B20/B16 Turbo engine together and i was under the same question...But i had the lady grab one TYPE-R, GSR off the shelf.. Same sizes...And i am pretty sure the TYPE-R is the same as the B16 so........ Your belt tensioner is either bad or the spring is stretched.
     
  8. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa

    i would have to disagree with you, because the type r and the gsr is the same motor as far as the size the b16 and the b18 is a totally different motr the b18 sits taller then the b16 if i am not mistaking the b18 is 8mm taller then the b16 all i know is that they are not the same belt totally different size!
     
  9. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yes b16 and b18's use different timing belts due to the height on the block-
     
  10. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    yes, def sounds like a tensioner problem...
    it would be smart to replace the tensioner...
     
  11. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    there are 3 timing blet groupings:

    b16
    LS
    ctr/itr/gsr

    your current belt should work.

    check the tensioner. they go bad all the time. and make sure the slack is on the tensioner side (rear) of the motor, not the front.
     
  12. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    yeah. all the slack is on the tensioner side. when i tighten the tensioner, nothing really seems to happen. what goes bad on the tensioner that i need to replace? is it just the spring? or do i need to replace the entire thing?
     
  13. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    make sure that the spring is on the block that happened to me i thought the tensioner was bad but it took the timing belt cover off and boom it was the spring it was off put it on tightened it up and it was perfect hope that works
     
  14. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    its going to have a little slack
     
  15. wickedplastikman

    wickedplastikman Senior Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    chicagp
    cool. ill take the cover off tommorrow and see how the spring looks. i know its supposed to have a tiny bit of slack, but the belt is loose enough to easily jump some teeth. thanks guys.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page