1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do U Think I Can Use Gsr Harness On My Civic?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by hondacivicnos, Apr 8, 2003.

  1. hondacivicnos

    hondacivicnos Senior Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    I am thinking about swaping B18C1 OBD2 JDM (from Integra GSR) into my civic 96 DX hatch, I read a lot about this swaping (most of the swap stories were about HARNESS AND CPU). And almost all of them had something to do with modification of USDM stock Civic harness so it will fit B18C1, but I will get the whole front of the Integra 96 from Japan so it will have everything from the dash to headlights. So my question is, if I will buy engine with full harness and all other parts like lincages axels and mounts already. Would I be able just to swap Integra's GSR harness and P72 CPU in my civic?
    Will it be easyer? And will it fit prefectly into my civic 96? And if there are some modification required please tell me about them.


    Thanks a lot for helping!
     
  2. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    if it is the same ODB, it makes more sense to use your stock harness and ADD the two (3?) vtec wires that you need. Unless the wiring harness comes still connected to the engine, then just install it and reconnect those wires.
     
  3. hondacivicnos

    hondacivicnos Senior Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Yea but its not just 2 or 3 wires, its almaust 5 to 10 wires and I will have to create new connections to CPU.
    Well like I said my car is OBD2 and I will buy OBD2 B18C1 engine. Yea and wires will be connected to CPU AND ENGINE WHEN I will buy it...
    So you saying that If I will use Integra GSR Harness it will work fine?
     
  4. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    No, it will not work.

    The Civic engine harness connects directly to the ECU.

    The GSR harness connects to the shock towers, then the vehicle harness connects to the ECU.


    You will need to rewire your Civic harness for the GSR.
     
  5. wildbillhatchbac

    wildbillhatchbac the OG VIP

    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT

    :werd: . . . rewireinght existing vehicle harness is usually the best and easiest way
     
  6. hondacivicnos

    hondacivicnos Senior Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    alright thanks I did not know that they are different.
    ok then I will spend a week or so doing harness rewireing.
    Thanks
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page