1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dohc ecu on sohc

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by theB16tegguy, Nov 16, 2003.

  1. theB16tegguy

    theB16tegguy Senior Member

    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    charlotte, NC
    can i hook up a 1988-91 b16 ecu to a 1988-91 crx the only diffrence is one has two cams and the other has one so what im asking is how does the ecu know if there is one or two cams is there an extra sensor on the dohc if anybody can help in any way it would be appreciated. :D
     
  2. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    they are completely different motors man. Would you run your microwave with the computer from the blender?
     
  3. theB16tegguy

    theB16tegguy Senior Member

    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    charlotte, NC
    IT DOESN'T MATTER THAT THERE DIFFRENT MOTORS THEY STILL BOTH HAVE THE SAME SENSORS WHAT WOULD THE ECU DO TO MAKE RUN DIFFRENTLY ON A D16. TELL ME WHAT????

    "IF YOU EXPLAIN MORE ABOUT WHY IT WILL MAKE IT EASIER FOR PEOPLE TO BELIEVE YOU"
     
  4. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    wow you're an idiot, it does matter that they are different motors you tard.

    Different compression, different fuel maps, DOHC vs. SOHC, it wont run right.
     
  5. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    If you want proof of this theory come and test drive/listen to my 94 Ls runnin on a DX ECU.
     
  6. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003

    Who you talking to?
     
  7. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    uhh ok, yes sometimes it just so happens that the ECU can adjust enough to compensate for the differences in the motor.


    did you ever thing that the calculations might be a bit different for a motor with completely different displacement? how about the differences in timing for a DOHC vs a SOHC. Or I don't know, maybe the fact that THEY ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT MOTORS.



    It may work, but hey, there are alot of things that "can" work but aren't exactly the right thing to do. The SOHC ECU will have the wrong fuel and ignition curve for the motor. In stock map form, this is a fact, not debatable.
     
  8. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH

    yes it can work. is your motor running the way it should be? no. Why don't you go do 2 dyno pulls, one with the DX ECU, and the other with the LS ECU. Let me know how "perfect" that DX ECU is running your motor.


    UNLESS you are running a piggyback computer or a reflash, in which case, you are right.. all the ECU is doing is relaying sensor data, it no longer holds the actual "tuning" of the engine.


    no need to get your panties in a bunch, just trying to give you the right information chief.
     
  9. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    my bad, i was talkin to the b16guy, my ls runs like shit becasue of it. So if anyones got an ls ecu pm me.
     
  10. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I'm not defending this jackass, I got an obd2 LS ecu instead of obd1 (curtosey of ebay).
     
  11. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH

    as was I man, sorry, I thought you were saying that if you want proof that it *works*

    heh.
     
  12. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    Why don't you yell a little louder, I can't hear you.
     
  13. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    If you try to run a LS motor with a DX (P06) computer, it will not be happy. Just add a chip, and voila, the P06 computer can run a LS motor perfectly.

    Likewise, a PR3 (or PW0) is intended for a DOHC B16A. I know ppl using them to run a D16Z6 nearly flawlessly AFTER CHIPPING THEM.

    Remember, the chip defines how the motor will run as much as the ECU.
     
  14. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003

    why would you run a dx ecu on a ls motor?
     
  15. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    because you have a DX ECU and the only difference between a DX and LS ECU is the chip running it?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page